I have some questions about the Hide skill that I don't understand. I get the feeling the answers are somewhere in the rules, and probably quite obvious, but I don't see it.
1) I'm unable to find where it says that a creature is flat-footed or denied his dexterity bonus against a creature with Concealment. I know this is is one of the most common ways rogues get to do sneak attacks, but I can't find where it says so directly.
2) I cannot find anywhere where it says that a creature is flat-footed or denied his dexterity bonus against a hiding creature (via the Hide skill). Is a hidden creature considered under Invisible condition or Concealed? The rules seem to generally imply this, but I can't anywhere that outright says this.
3) If a character double moves through 55 unconcealed and uncovered squares, but he ends his turn in a 5' square that has concealment or cover, can he make a hide check? Are the penalties on Hide check due to movement meant for a character that is already hidden or for one that is going to be hiding?
4) If a character has cover in relation to the opponent who is not directly observing him, he can make a Hide check. But what happens when the opponent moves to a new spot and the hidden character no longer has cover in relation to the opponent. Is the character still hidden or does he automatically come out of hiding? Along the same vein, what happens if a character is in a square with concealment or cover, hides, and then moves to a square without concealment or hiding? Is he automatically out of hiding?
5) Lastly, here is an example of an issue we had recently. A rogue is accosted by a town guard, the rogue runs around the corner of a building (let's say 10' after the corner, and with full concealment and cover since there is no line of sight). The rogue then uses his Hide skill, and readies an action to attack (either with ranged or melee) the guardman. When the guard comes around the corner, is the guard flat-footed to the rogue? The moment he comes around the corner, the rogue no longer has cover or concealment against the guard. What happens in this situation?
Anyway, thanks for any help on this, I'm sure it's something simple, but I can't find it.
-Arravis
1) I'm unable to find where it says that a creature is flat-footed or denied his dexterity bonus against a creature with Concealment. I know this is is one of the most common ways rogues get to do sneak attacks, but I can't find where it says so directly.
2) I cannot find anywhere where it says that a creature is flat-footed or denied his dexterity bonus against a hiding creature (via the Hide skill). Is a hidden creature considered under Invisible condition or Concealed? The rules seem to generally imply this, but I can't anywhere that outright says this.
3) If a character double moves through 55 unconcealed and uncovered squares, but he ends his turn in a 5' square that has concealment or cover, can he make a hide check? Are the penalties on Hide check due to movement meant for a character that is already hidden or for one that is going to be hiding?
4) If a character has cover in relation to the opponent who is not directly observing him, he can make a Hide check. But what happens when the opponent moves to a new spot and the hidden character no longer has cover in relation to the opponent. Is the character still hidden or does he automatically come out of hiding? Along the same vein, what happens if a character is in a square with concealment or cover, hides, and then moves to a square without concealment or hiding? Is he automatically out of hiding?
5) Lastly, here is an example of an issue we had recently. A rogue is accosted by a town guard, the rogue runs around the corner of a building (let's say 10' after the corner, and with full concealment and cover since there is no line of sight). The rogue then uses his Hide skill, and readies an action to attack (either with ranged or melee) the guardman. When the guard comes around the corner, is the guard flat-footed to the rogue? The moment he comes around the corner, the rogue no longer has cover or concealment against the guard. What happens in this situation?
Anyway, thanks for any help on this, I'm sure it's something simple, but I can't find it.
-Arravis