[Song and Silence] Fanfare question

Malin Genie

First Post
In the stat-block, fanfare is listed as "Fortitude negates."

However, the description states "if the save is successful, the target is stunned for 1d4 rounds" (and a failure also deals damage.)

The game-balance issues of a "stun-with-no-save" spell aside; has fanfare been clarified or errata-ed?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


-

It's like Mind Blast psionic attack mode, but without save (or sort of, regardess of your save result you are screwed). Take a wild guess whether or not such spell is available in my games...

Z.
 

It's a frickin' 6th level bard spell. It *BETTER* do something useful, considering that it's bard-only, and the bard won't be seeing it until 16th level.

I now predict a massive onslaught of bard characters being created to exploit this. Not.
 

Okay - so the consensus seems to be that despite the fort. negates in the stat-block, that it actually does stun even on a successful save.

Next question: all stone/metal/brittle objects in the cone take 2d6 damage ignoring hardness. Unlike great shout, the spell makes no mention of attended objects gaining a save - however I do seem to remember that there is a general principle that attended objects do get a save even when they might not otherwise be entitled to one...

Also - what is an 'attended' object - is a dagger in a scabbard 'attended'?
 

Next question: all stone/metal/brittle objects in the cone take 2d6 damage ignoring hardness. Unlike great shout, the spell makes no mention of attended objects gaining a save - however I do seem to remember that there is a general principle that attended objects do get a save even when they might not otherwise be entitled to one...

"Unless the descriptive text of a spell specifies otherwise, all items carried and worn are assumed to survive a magical attack."

Unless you roll a 1 on your save, your sword should be fine.

Also - what is an 'attended' object - is a dagger in a scabbard 'attended'?

All items carried or worn. If the scabbard is on your belt or in your pack, the dagger is attended. If the scabbard is on the floor, it's not.

-Hyp.
 

From Great Shout

"Stone, crystal and metal objects in the area take 20d6 points of damage. Creatures holding vulnerable objects can attempt Reflex saves to negate the damage."

This implies that the objects take damage whether attended or not, and that only objects actually held get any saving throw at all.... so a character holding a sword, with an axe and dagger at her belt and some potions in her backpack would have everything but the sword automatically destroyed and a Reflex save to prevent the sword being destroyed, as I read it.

Fanfare says "any object made of stone, glass, wood or metal within the area takes 2d6 damage ignoring hardness." So this would imply not only that the sword doesn't get a save but that the bow and quiver of arrows on her back get sundered too....

AFAIK the rule about 'items only affected on a 1' only applies to spells like fireball which don't specifically describe dealing damage to objects in the area.
 

AFAIK the rule about 'items only affected on a 1' only applies to spells like fireball which don't specifically describe dealing damage to objects in the area.

[shrug] That's not what it says on PHB p150. It says that items carried or worn survive a magical attack unless the spell specifies otherwise.

Great Shout specifies otherwise - it says you need to make a Reflex Save for a held object, or it takes damage.

Fanfare doesn't specify otherwise.

-Hyp.
 

Would you then interpret great shout as only dealing damage to 'held objects whose owners fail their Reflex saves' and not to any other objects worn or carried (so a sword in hand is vulnerable, a sword in the scabbard is safe?)
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top