Sorcerers, Cha, spell slots, and buffing

MerakSpielman

First Post
OK, this should be a quick question, but I can't remember the answer off the top of my head.

Say you have a 13th level sorcerer with a Cha of 16.

The sorcerer gains a level to 14, but with that low Cha she can't cast 7th level spells.

A) Is she allowed to pick out a new 7th level spell, even if she can't cast it?

B) Is she allowed to use 7th level scrolls without penalty of failure?

C) If she cast's Eagle's Splendor, temporarily raising her Cha to the point where she can cast 7th level spells, can she cast the one she hypothetically learned in question A?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

A) Not really covered by the r.a.w.. I'd say yes.

B) Nope. Can't use the scroll at all unless you have a high enough stat.

C) Assuming A, I would also allow C.
 

MerakSpielman said:
OK, this should be a quick question, but I can't remember the answer off the top of my head.

Say you have a 13th level sorcerer with a Cha of 16.

The sorcerer gains a level to 14, but with that low Cha she can't cast 7th level spells.

A) Is she allowed to pick out a new 7th level spell, even if she can't cast it?

"To learn or cast a spell, a sorcerer must have a Charisma score equal to at least 10 + the spell level." (SRD). So, no.

B) Is she allowed to use 7th level scrolls without penalty of failure?

"To have any chance of activating a scroll spell, the scroll user must meet the following requirements.

The spell must be of the correct type (arcane or divine). Arcane spellcasters (wizards, sorcerers, and bards) can only use scrolls containing arcane spells, and divine spellcasters (clerics, druids, paladins, and rangers) can only use scrolls containing divine spells. (The type of scroll a character creates is also determined by his or her class.)
The user must have the spell on his or her class list.
The user must have the requisite ability score." (SRD)

So, surprisingly, no, can't even use them at all, chance of failure is irrelevant. I wouldn't have guessed that one.
 

A) No.
PHB, p.54: "To learn or cast a spell, a sorcerer must have a Cha score equal to at least 10 + the spell level."
I suppose she would be allowed to learn the spell if she could increase her Cha to 17+ for some time (a few days maybe, not sure how long it takes sorcerers to learn spells). Asking somebody to lend her a cloak of Cha might do the trick. ;) A sorcerer hit by a Cha debuff (e.g., poison) doesn't lose her learned spells, after all; she just loses access to them until her Cha is high enough again. The same principle should work her.

B) Only if she buffs her Cha to 17+ and the scroll isn't scribed at a higher caster level than 14th.
The requirements for scroll activation are:
  • Spell must be of correct type (arcane in her case).
  • Spell must be on user's class list.
  • User must have requisite ability score (Cha 17, in this case.
  • User's caster level must be at least equal to spell's.

C) Yes, but see my answer to A). :p
 

Don't forget - even if she can't cast 7th level spells, she still gets the castable slots for the 7th level spells, for use with other lower-level spells.

Personally, as a house rule I would also allow this sorcerer to take any of her new higher-level spells gained, and let her gain lower-level spells in their place, if desired. If Psions can do it, why not the sorcerer?
 

Henry said:
Don't forget - even if she can't cast 7th level spells, she still gets the castable slots for the 7th level spells, for use with other lower-level spells.

Including lower-level spells metamagicked up to 7th, apart from Heighten.

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top