Soundburst's stun affect

adndgamer

First Post
It says that if the creature fails its save that it's stunned for one round.

Now, let's pretend that the player and the creature rolled the same init (and thus go at the same time) and the player pulled off the soundburst on the creature, and the creature failed its save.

When will the creature be un-stunned? At the start of its next turn? (and when it's the player's turn again) Will the player get the bonuses of attacking a stunned creature if he attacks the creature next round?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

IDHMBIFOM, but, the creature will be stunned for one round, beginning at the end of the PC's round. The creature will regain control at the end of the PC's next round. The effect is that the creature loses one round of action, wether the creature goes before, after, or during the PC's initiative.
 

adndgamer said:
It says that if the creature fails its save that it's stunned for one round.

Now, let's pretend that the player and the creature rolled the same init (and thus go at the same time) and the player pulled off the soundburst on the creature, and the creature failed its save.

When will the creature be un-stunned? At the start of its next turn? (and when it's the player's turn again) Will the player get the bonuses of attacking a stunned creature if he attacks the creature next round?

Even if two combatants roll the same initiative, somebody goes first (PHB pg.120).

The creature will be unstunned just before the spellcaster who cast the sound burst goes again in the next round. So when the caster goes again next round, the creature is no longer stunned, and the former gets no bonus against it.
 

Re: Re: Soundburst's stun affect

The creature will be unstunned just before the spellcaster who cast the sound burst goes again in the next round. So when the caster goes again next round, the creature is no longer stunned, and the former gets no bonus against it.

Yup. 'swhy a cleric should always have a rabidly fanatical cohort with a big stick standing by to take advantage of such situations.

-Hyp.
 

adndgamer said:
Now, let's pretend that the player and the creature rolled the same init (and thus go at the same time)
Why pretend that? If two or more creatures roll the same initiative, they do not go at the same time. The one with the higher Dex score goes first. If they have the same Dex score, you flip a coin (or something equivalent) to see who goes first.
 

adndgamer said:
(and thus go at the same time)
As has been said, this is your problem. Simulatnious actions are a big problem within the rules, and generaly not supposted at all. Someone goes first, even if the're at the same initiative count. And the effect that lasts 1 round lasts from their action to just before their current iniative count on the next turn (when they act next turn if nothing changes).
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top