Spell Mastery and multi-class Wizards...

FlimFlam said:
I was thinking Flameblade. It's just part of a character concept I was working on. Of course, not sure at what level you'd qualify for the Heirophant. By that time, I might want to do more damage then 1d8 with a Flameblade.

Hierophant requires 7th level divine spells. So that requires a minimum of 13 levels of druid.

By this point, you do have more options available (by far) than Flame Blade.

However, don't underestimate the puny little blade. At 14th level, the spell is doing 1d8 + 7 damage with a decent critical hit range. More importantly, Flame Blade is a touch attack. It's a wonderful thing to use on dragons and other creatures with ridiculous ACs.

More importantly, Flame Blade is open to being Empowered just like any other spell. At 15th level, you can triple empower it for a total of 2d8 + 1d4 + 17 damage per hit. At low epic levels (21), you can take Improved Metamagic and 7x empower it to do 4d8 + 1d4 + 45 damage per hit. (NOTE: The 2d8 + 1d4 notation is how we roll it in the campaign I play in -- you may handle the multiplication differently in your campaign.)

Flame Blade is a great spell with a good duration.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Please read the whole description.

Spell mastery:
A wizard (and only a wizard) can take the special feat Spell Mastery. Each time the wizard takes this feat, choose a number of spells equal to the wizard's Intelligence modifier (they must be spells that the wizard already knows). From that point on, the wizard can prepare these spells without referring to a spell book. The wizard is so intimately familiar with these spells that she doesn't need a spellbook to prepare them.
Bold emphasis added by me.

It says the wizard already knows. You do not know flameblade as a wizard.

PHB 56, multiclassing and spells points out that you must keep track of which spellcasting class is providing a spell. You can't mix them.

Edit: Dang formatting.
 
Last edited:

Hmmm, I didn't think about the Empower aspect. Could you also maximize it? So instead of rolling 1d8 you do a straight 8 points of damage (with whatever the pluses would be at at that level)?

What about Permanent Spell?
 

I can't memorize it, prepare, cast it or scribe it in my spell book as a Wizard. Nor is the spell found on my Wizard's spell list. I agree with all this. But my CHARACTER knows Flame Blade. And since my character would be both Druid and Wizard, I'd say what one "knows", so does the other.

Just because you learn one thing from one class doesn't necessarily mean your other class can't benefit from it. Just as I pointed out with Scribe Scroll the wizard gets. The WIZARD gets Scribe Scroll, but that doesn't mean that he can only scribe wizard spells. Are you suggesting I need to choose Scribe Scroll as a Druid in order to scribe Druid spells?
 


FlimFlam said:
I can't memorize it, prepare, cast it or scribe it in my spell book as a Wizard. Nor is the spell found on my Wizard's spell list. I agree with all this. But my CHARACTER knows Flame Blade. And since my character would be both Druid and Wizard, I'd say what one "knows", so does the other.

Just because you learn one thing from one class doesn't necessarily mean your other class can't benefit from it. Just as I pointed out with Scribe Scroll the wizard gets. The WIZARD gets Scribe Scroll, but that doesn't mean that he can only scribe wizard spells. Are you suggesting I need to choose Scribe Scroll as a Druid in order to scribe Druid spells?

There is a big difference between Scribe Scroll and Spell Mastery.

Scribe scroll (and most other magical feats) says you can use it with any spell you can cast. It does not say any spell a wizard knows. The is nothing in that feat that is specific to a particular type of spellcaster.

In my opinion, there is no way to use Spell Mastery with any spell you don't know as a Wizard.

A Wizard 1 / Sorcerer 3/ Druid 16 could scribe a scroll that he knows as any of those classes. The character could only use Spell Mastery with the spells he knows as a Wizard.
 

FlimFlam said:
I can't memorize it, prepare, cast it or scribe it in my spell book as a Wizard. Nor is the spell found on my Wizard's spell list. I agree with all this. But my CHARACTER knows Flame Blade. And since my character would be both Druid and Wizard, I'd say what one "knows", so does the other.
You'd say that, but you'd be wrong.

People have already pointed out what the rules say, and you're not listening. If you were that certain of your own interpretation, why did you ask the question in the first place?

The WIZARD gets Scribe Scroll, but that doesn't mean that he can only scribe wizard spells. Are you suggesting I need to choose Scribe Scroll as a Druid in order to scribe Druid spells?
Scribe Scroll is a red herring, and I think you know it. Magic item creation doesn't care if the spells are on a character's class list at all, as long as they're cast during creation.
 

I think the reason they never specifically said, this only applies to spells gained form your wizard levels. Is that the way it works, it would only work for wizard spells. Druids/clerics automatically know all there spells no spellbooks needed, sor/bards choose specific spells they know for ever, ranger/paladin same dillio as the cleric/druid. About the only other class it could work for outside of wizards are prestige classes like the assassin, because for every other class the mechanics of it jsut don't jive.
 

Why not just let him do it? Are you really worried about overpowering a multiclassed spellcaster? :p
 

Oh personally I'd let him do it. Its for a character concept. ITs a multiclassed spellcaster, so its not like he's going to overpower anyone. And he's going to spend two feats (one of which does him no good, as he doesn't need a spellbook to prepare flame blade) so he can spontaneously make a flaming sword.

But it would be a house rule. By the letter of the rules, no can do. This is what a DM is for.
 

Remove ads

Top