Spell range and Fireball

Piratecat

Sesquipedalian
You know, I'm still learning stuff.

For instance, when trying to place an extremely effective transmute rock to mud the other day, we ran across this definition of range in the rules:

SRD said:
A spell’s range is the maximum distance from you that the spell’s effect can occur, as well as the maximum distance at which you can designate the spell’s point of origin. If any portion of the spell’s area would extend beyond this range, that area is wasted.

I had always thought that the range was to the spell's originating point, but i'm clearly wrong. Am I correct in assuming that if you shot a fireball out to its maximum range, it would become a fire-half-a-ball, its flame only extending in a 180 degree sphere towards the caster? Wacky. That seems really odd, but I guess I can see the point.

This makes spells like fire storm a lot tougher to position; it has medium range, but takes up quite a bit of area (two 10' cubes per lvl.)
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Piratecat said:
Am I correct in assuming that if you shot a fireball out to its maximum range, it would become a fire-half-a-ball, its flame only extending in a 180 degree sphere towards the caster? Wacky. That seems really odd, but I guess I can see the point.

Wow... that's weird. I honestly didn't know that. In my experience, the way I (and, as it seems, you) have been doing it hasn't caused any problems, so I'm just gonna ignore that little clause, and suggest you do the same.
 

Yeah, while I've known this rule for a long time now, I was surprised as well when I first saw it.
 


Piratecat said:
Am I correct in assuming that if you shot a fireball out to its maximum range, it would become a fire-half-a-ball, its flame only extending in a 180 degree sphere towards the caster?

Absolutely.

Now read Darkness or Light, and try to apply the rule :)

-Hyp.
 


Hypersmurf said:
Absolutely.

Now read Darkness or Light, and try to apply the rule :)

-Hyp.

LMAO! I love you sometimes Hype!

This actually came up in a discussion of Blur and Mirror Image in a twisted way. The overlap between range, target, and area are always weird.

Of course, I imagine that since Darkness and Light have a Target rather than an area, it works. A spell's "Area" description cannot exceed its range but the effect on a target can (for example, a person doesn't stop being blinded. Also, a person with "bless" continues to gain the benefits even if the leave the orginal area.

DC
 



Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top