Spellfire and Monks

adienpryde

First Post
I have a 10th lvl Monk that has Spellfire Wielder and will become a Channeler at 12, but I was wondering, Can I release spellfire upon my monk unarmed attacks and if so do I roll twice, once for my UA attack, and once for my Spellfire touch attack, or once. And if once is it a UA attack or touch.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Generally speaking, the rules state that monks (and other PCs) can use unarmed strikes to deliver touch attacks. You make one attack and, if it is successful, you can apply the unarmed damage and the spell effect discharges.
 

adienpryde said:
I have a 10th lvl Monk that has Spellfire Wielder and will become a Channeler at 12, but I was wondering, Can I release spellfire upon my monk unarmed attacks and if so do I roll twice, once for my UA attack, and once for my Spellfire touch attack, or once. And if once is it a UA attack or touch.
Spellfire is a ranged touch attack, right?
 


You could ask your DM to play is as such (which would be, IMO, logical, and has been proposed many times on these boards): If your attack beats your target's touch AC, but not total AC, only the spellfire attack is delivered.

Slim
 


Yes it is, right from the book.

Using Spellfire

As a standard action, a spellfire wielder may expend stored spellfire energy levels as a melee or ranged touch attack(maximum range 400 feet),dealind 1d6 points of spellfire damage per level expended (Reflex half, DC 20).
 



adienpryde said:
not a touch spell...

Exactly. Spellfire is a supernatural ability. Using a supernatural ability requires a standard action. Spellfire requires a standard action. Making a melee attack requires a standard action. You only get one standard action per round. Spellfire is not a "1 action" or "1 standard action" touch spell.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top