Stacking multiple metamagic feats

Craer

First Post
Here we have Mitch the Lich, a 25th level arcane spellcaster. Mitch the Lich is hovering above an army of orcs and goblins. Mitch wants to take them all out in a single spell, and feels like showing off a little. So he casts a 6x enlarged fireball, taking up a 9th level spell slot and targets the middle of the encampment.

So what happens?

First, can one even do that?

Second, the feat increases the area by 100%. Is that the original area, or the new, modified area? Basically, does Mitch the Lich unleash a blast of magefire with a total diameter of nearly half a mile (radius of 1280 ft, diameter of 2560 ft, or .485 miles), or does he send down a fireball much less suited for army eradication with a measly (ha!) 140ft radius, and end up being a very embarassed Sorcerer?

-Craer
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

You cannot apply the same metamagic feat more than once. This is specified in the general description of metamagic, in the Feats chapter.

If you could do it, you would have the smaller effect. Any time you multiply something in D&D, you add all the multipliers together, before applying them to the original value. So "doubling" the value six times will work out to a 7x multiplier.

And BTW, the feat that increases spell area is Widen Spell. Enlarge only increases its range.
 

AuraSeer said:
You cannot apply the same metamagic feat more than once. This is specified in the general description of metamagic, in the Feats chapter.

Correct for 3.5.

In 3.0 you can stack metamagic feats, though some groups use the 3.5 rule as a house rule. Otherwise, double and triple stacked Empowers can be pretty nasty.

AuraSeer said:
So "doubling" the value six times will work out to a 7x multiplier.

Exactly right. Using the same feat multiple times is not geometric (2-4-8-16...)
 



Remove ads

Top