Dimwhit
Explorer
I don't think there is a rule anywhere that says "crouching" is a MEA or the same as being prone. Or even sitting. In fact, I don't think "crouching" ever comes up. I would consider it the same as "taking cover" behind the low wall. Doing that isn't a move at all, to my knowledge.
The Sorcerer should be able to do that. There's no reason not to. I would consider it a 5' move, then a free action to go back down.
The Sorcerer should be able to do that. There's no reason not to. I would consider it a 5' move, then a free action to go back down.