Star Wars Saga/D&D 5th Hybrid [OOC/Rolls]

Agh, I knew I forgot something!

Sorry! One moment.

Quick check-in; One guy came out of the tunnel and attacked Kacela. What are the status of the other troopers, in terms of location and fitness to fight? I can spend a Force Point, I believe to 're-arm' a Force Push if it would help any.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

RE: Autofire

The closest allegory to it from D&D would be like switching a versatile weapon from one hand to two hands, which, IIRC, requires no action. But if both drawing and changing the selection are treated as item interactions, one would require the character's action. The Bonus Action if both drawing and changing the selection is probably a happy medium, but makes the rules a little more situational. I'm not a big fan of situational rules, but they may have their place.

Do you think it has that big of an impact to require an action? I think if you were going to change anything, and this would be pretty significant, it would be to change Auto-Fire to its own action, rather than a sub-component of the Attack Action. If you did that, you could probably just incorporate the fire selection as being part of the action.
 

Agh, I knew I forgot something!

Sorry! One moment.

Quick check-in; One guy came out of the tunnel and attacked Kacela. What are the status of the other troopers, in terms of location and fitness to fight? I can spend a Force Point, I believe to 're-arm' a Force Push if it would help any.

At present here are the locations of all the troopers left...

In the chamber, there are 5 that are retreating (took the Dash action) back and are 82 meters from the tunnel entrance where most of the players are at.

In the tunnel there is one trooper who took the dodge action and the moved back 12 meters. You have an OA attack against him at Disadvantage with your lightsaber.
The last four troopers are 14 meters back into the tunnel, 20, 22 and 24 meters back in the tunnel.
NOTE that 8 meters back in the tunnel is where the smoke is at present. Unless you Use the Force (TN15) to "see" though, with a Bonus Action, you would be at disadvantage with any attacks against them.
 

RE: Autofire

The closest allegory to it from D&D would be like switching a versatile weapon from one hand to two hands, which, IIRC, requires no action. But if both drawing and changing the selection are treated as item interactions, one would require the character's action. The Bonus Action if both drawing and changing the selection is probably a happy medium, but makes the rules a little more situational. I'm not a big fan of situational rules, but they may have their place.

Do you think it has that big of an impact to require an action? I think if you were going to change anything, and this would be pretty significant, it would be to change Auto-Fire to its own action, rather than a sub-component of the Attack Action. If you did that, you could probably just incorporate the fire selection as being part of the action.

I can see the point here but I kind of feel it is a weapon interaction. In Star Wars Saga it was Swift Action and you only got one of those a Round. Of course Drawing a weapon was part of your Move Action so it was something different.
 

True, but if Auto-fire took your one action, it kind of becomes a meaningless difference. You wouldn't be able to shoot at one person, then switch to autofire for your next attack, short of something like Action Surge, which breaks action economy by definition. Could you use auto-fire and multiple attacks in conjunction in Saga?
 

There were six types of actions in Saga - Free, Reaction, Swift, Move, Standard and Full.

You could take as many free actions in a round that was reasonable. You only got one Reaction, Swift, Move and Standard a round. When you did multiple attacks or full auto it was a Full Round action and you only got to take Free and a Reaction in the same round so no. You could also take a 2 meter step (5 foot step) with a Full Action.

I think I will just go with an interaction. You can switch it if you have it already draw that round without any problems. If you want to draw and switch it you need to take a Bonus action OR you need the Quick Draw feat (as it allows you to take any number of interactions with weapons as you want in a round).
 


Hmmm I guess that you can, so long as you have at least 10 rounds in the weapon to attack with. So if you have the Double-Attack feat you could but you would use 20 rounds, etc.
 

OK, just making sure since the Gand did it a few rounds ago. I wanted to make sure we just didn't overlook the rule, given that it isn't allowed in Saga due to autofire being a full-round action, if I am reading it correctly.

ETA: Also, does the same thing apply to Whirlwind Attack?
 

hehe Yep these are all Full Round actions from Saga that I did not consider with 5th... so for now lets just say 'Yes you can'. I have to think about it a bit more but oh well :)
 

Remove ads

Top