Star Wars Saga/D&D 5th Hybrid [OOC/Rolls]


log in or register to remove this ad

I'm cool with using the threads as suggested.

Cal would have readied his weapon in as non-threatening a manner as possible. I assume drawing/readying a weapon takes some kind of action in SAGA, unless you have Quick Draw? Ah, never mind, looks like it is similar to 5E where you can draw a weapon as an incidental. I've never been exactly clear on readied action and the technical requirements behind using it in 5E (not being able to use actions that state "on your turn" as a readied action, etc), so I am just going to assume that Cal can ready his carbine and set it to stun on his turn as the crowd approached.
 
Last edited:

Yes you can draw or holster one weapon as part of you action, but only one (unless you have a special feat or talent). Readying an action is an action, but you can still move and take bonus actions on your turn. Reactions are not affected. Then if the conditions are meet your Readied action happens.
 

Are you houseruling this, GreenKarl? In 5E setting up a ready action uses up your Action that round and uses your Reaction to trigger (so choosing to take an AoO that round would, for example, negate your Ready (as with any action that isn't the one you readied, right?)).

"When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger. Remember that you can take only one reaction per round." PHB p.193

Not that I mind either way. Just to be clear how it is.

EDIT = Um, actually, now that I think about it, if I say: "when the next tear drops out of the idol's eyes, I try to catch it before it enters the chalice", then bash a passing goblin (AoO). Well, I'm no longer concentrating on that tear, am I?
 
Last edited:

Ah there are no 'standard actions' any more, BUT I don't have my PHB in front of me so I might have forgotten the wording and what happens. I was not planning on Houseruling how that worked. So if that's what the 5th ed. PHB says that's what I would like to use.
 




Yeah, there end up being certain issues with the way everything is worded. For instance, there are several abilities that state they can be done "on your turn." Many in the community view that as meaning that, for instance, if you ready an attack to trigger using your Reaction, you wouldn't gain the benefit of Extra Attack (for instance) as the attack is not occurring on your turn. Personally, I've always thought it should work more like a delay. Burn your reaction to be able to do whatever you could do on your turn, just at a later, possibly more beneficial, time. It certainly involves less time combing the rules to make sure that what you want to do is compatible with Readying. I think the specific wording of Ready also indicates that you can either take your action OR move, but not both with a Ready.

I think this is the majority of the relevant Ready text, quoted from the Basic Rules guide:
Sometimes you want to get the jump on a foe or wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you can take the Ready action on your turn so that you can act later in the round using your reaction. First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to move up to your speed in response to it. Examples include “If the cultist steps on the trapdoor, I’ll pull the lever that opens it,” and “If the goblin steps next to me, I move away.”
 

Sounds good to me, I am fine if you have extra attack (be it from the Feat Extra Attack or from a Bonus Action) I think you should be able to use it if you burn your Reaction

Also the other groups Initiative vs. Reks [roll0], thugs [roll1]
 

Remove ads

Top