Storm Sorcerer: Need a DM's Judgement

ACGalaga

First Post
Sup En World Gang,

I need your help again. Sorry if this is a silly question, but I haven't been able to find a clear answer.

So, I'm making a Storm Sorcerer for this campaign I plan to join, and this small detal boggles me:

Storm Power: You gain a bonus to the damage rolls of arcane powers equal to your Dexterity modifier.

Ok seems pretty easy, now let's look at a level 1 encounter power, Explosive Pyre:

Hit: 2D8+Cha(+Dex)

Got that, but!!! It also says:

Until the start of your next turn, any enemy that enters a square adjacent to the target or starts its turn there takes 1d6 fire damage.

Question: Does that 1d6 also get the +Dex modifier? Isn't this arcane related damage or just fire?

So... If I was DMing this I know how I'd rule it, but I may be wrong. I'd like your thoughts.

Thanks so much once again!!
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Yes you get it on both bits.
The '1d6 fire damage' is a "damage roll" and it is caused by an arcane power. So the Storm Power comes into play and you get a bonus to the damage.

You also get to add any enhancement bonus you have on your implement (assuming this power has the Implement keyword) and any feat/item bonuses to damage (or "damage rolls") you may have, like from Implement Focus or funky items (unless these state they only work on "hitting" or the like)
 

Since it's a "damage roll of an arcane power", yes, you get bonus damage.

Note that if the power instead read "Until the start of your next turn, any enemy that enters a square adjacent to the target or starts its turn there takes 5 fire damage", you would not get the bonus, as there is no roll. :)
 

Yes you get it on both bits.
The '1d6 fire damage' is a "damage roll" and it is caused by an arcane power. So the Storm Power comes into play and you get a bonus to the damage.

OK, that sounds pretty reasonable. Thanks so much to the both of you for your feedback!! :)
 

Ok, here's another question about sorcerers. This one is about impliments.

Let's say the sorcerer wields a Magic Dagger +1

Enhancement: +1 attack rolls and damage rolls
Critical: +1d6 damage per plus

Ok, so ....

When you wield a magic dagger
or a magic staff, you can add its enhancement bonus
to the attack rolls and the damage rolls of sorcerer
powers and sorcerer paragon path powers that have
the implement keyword.

Question is; when I use a power, like acid orb, and I crit, do I apply the +1d6 to the damage?

So now... my gut is telling me "no"... only because I'm not sure if the +1d6 is considered an enhancement bonus. What do you think?

Thanks again :)
 


The way criticals work is that you get that per magic item bonus. So say it was a Magic Dagger +3, you would roll 3d6 instead of the 1d6. This is why crits can take awhile because you can have so many extra die with feats, features, and weapons :P
 


Do remember, though, that like your first example, the extra crit damage only applies to damage rolls - so even if you roll a crit, you don't get the extra damage to powers that don't have a damage roll and instead:
- simply apply a condition (say, "target is removed from play, save ends")
- simplly apply static damage (things like "target takes charisma modifier damage"); or
- simply gives ongoing damage (say "target is dazed and takes ongoing 5 thunder damage").

Now, I don't think sorceror's have many (any?) powers that don't have damage rolls, but classes like the wizard and the cleric do... though I seem to remember some that did a damage roll against the primary target and fixed damage against creatures adjacent to it... in which case the primary target takes full damage + cirt dice and those adjacent just take the static damage with no crit dice.

Oh, and as a further permutation, there are generally two types of sorceror "area" attack powers:

1. You make an attack roll against each target; and

2. You make an attack roll against one target, and then other creatures/enemies within a certain distance (usually adjacent) take damage as well.

For number 1, only those targets you roll crits against take crit damage (and only if they are damage rolls)

For number 2, if you roll for damage on the "secondary targets", they ALL get crit damage, as they are all because of a single die roll, which was a critical hit.
 

Remove ads

Top