Stupid question

Phaedrus

First Post
Can a mage cast 2 spells a round normally? 1 for standard action, 1 for move action?

If so, where is that stated? (and do you get a 5' step?)
If not, why not? I don't feel like moving at all, shouldn't I be able to do more in a round?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Phaedrus said:

If not, why not? I don't feel like moving at all, shouldn't I be able to do more in a round?

Game balance is one good reason. Another?

Let's say that my maximum speed chewing gum is 4 chews per second. 24 chews per round. Shouldn't I be able to chew gum faster standing still than when running? Yet..testing this just this moment. I found my rate of gum chewing is uneffected by whether I am walking or standing still. (Though curiously, the little old lady I ran right by had no trouble hitting me with her cane. But that's a point for a different rule discussion.)

So if it helps, look at it this way. Casting a spell takes six seconds. A wizard or other spell caster has enough training he can move while keeping enough concentration to cast the spell just as well as if he was standing still.
 

Re: Re: Stupid question

Black Omega said:
(Though curiously, the little old lady I ran right by had no trouble hitting me with her cane. But that's a point for a different rule discussion.)

A-Ha! Attack of Opportunity. If you'd just been running past her, but not chewing, you'd only be moving right? So no AoO?
 

Re: Re: Re: Stupid question

Olive said:
A-Ha! Attack of Opportunity. If you'd just been running past her, but not chewing, you'd only be moving right? So no AoO?
Not quite. Moving still draws an AoO. The "do nothing but move" exception only applies to the square in which you start the round.

That's a whole other topic, though.
 


Phaedrus said:
Can a mage cast 2 spells a round normally? 1 for standard action, 1 for move action?

If so, where is that stated? (and do you get a 5' step?)
If not, why not? I don't feel like moving at all, shouldn't I be able to do more in a round?
A standard action consists of an action, and a move. You get one standard action each round. Let me play with a diagram:

1 standard action = 1 action + move

You cannot substitute the move for anything else. That's all you have time for. But you can use your 1 action to also move. So you're moving twice. In this case, you'd have:

1 standard action = move + move

In this case you are moving twice, but you probably have a second or so left over, because a move doesn't take as long as 1 action, but unfortunately it's not enough to do anything else.

So you can substitute an action with a move, but not a move with an action (except a move-equivalent action, which takes less time. Spellcasting is not a move-equivalent action.)
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top