I'm A Banana
Potassium-Rich
I'm about to play a character with summon abilities for the first time, but I've got a few Q's about how some stuff with the summoned ally is supposed to work.
I'm looking at Summon Fire Warrior, and see that it has something it can do with an opportunity action. But if I'm reading RAW right, it does not ever get an opportunity action. I do. So if an enemy moves away from it, it does not get an opportunity action. But if an enemy moves away from me, I can spend my opportunity action to give it the attack, yes?
That doesn't seem to be working-as-intended, though...I'd guess the fire warrior would want to hit things that move away from it, instead of hitting things that move away from me. But if I'm the one who has to use "opportunity actions" to power the attacks, I don't get one when an enemy moves away from the summon, only when they'd move away from me.
I'm also curious as to if keywords cascade through the attacks the summon uses. Summon Fire Warrior has the Implement keyword, so if I use the Standard Action attack, do I get the normal attack roll with my magic implement bonus (the same attack roll I'd use for, say, Fireball)? Or does it not get added? Does it have the "Arcane" keyword when it uses its attacks, or not (so, does it use feat bonuses, etc. I might have for Arcane powers, or not)?
And the third concern is pretty basic: these things count for flanking and CA and such, right?
I'm also a little annoyed that the Compendium fails me when trying to reference summoning rules, because it doesn't talk about any of this stuff....defenses, HP, etc....it's not even the entire PHB3 blurb, which I'd imagine it should be....
Anyway, mostly looking to sort out some rules on this bad boy. My githyanki pyromancer mage wants to burninate things, and I should be able to understand what this thing is doing before I slam it down on the table.
I'm looking at Summon Fire Warrior, and see that it has something it can do with an opportunity action. But if I'm reading RAW right, it does not ever get an opportunity action. I do. So if an enemy moves away from it, it does not get an opportunity action. But if an enemy moves away from me, I can spend my opportunity action to give it the attack, yes?
That doesn't seem to be working-as-intended, though...I'd guess the fire warrior would want to hit things that move away from it, instead of hitting things that move away from me. But if I'm the one who has to use "opportunity actions" to power the attacks, I don't get one when an enemy moves away from the summon, only when they'd move away from me.
I'm also curious as to if keywords cascade through the attacks the summon uses. Summon Fire Warrior has the Implement keyword, so if I use the Standard Action attack, do I get the normal attack roll with my magic implement bonus (the same attack roll I'd use for, say, Fireball)? Or does it not get added? Does it have the "Arcane" keyword when it uses its attacks, or not (so, does it use feat bonuses, etc. I might have for Arcane powers, or not)?
And the third concern is pretty basic: these things count for flanking and CA and such, right?
I'm also a little annoyed that the Compendium fails me when trying to reference summoning rules, because it doesn't talk about any of this stuff....defenses, HP, etc....it's not even the entire PHB3 blurb, which I'd imagine it should be....
Anyway, mostly looking to sort out some rules on this bad boy. My githyanki pyromancer mage wants to burninate things, and I should be able to understand what this thing is doing before I slam it down on the table.
Last edited: