Summonings

Can you source this at all? I would think the opposite would be true. As you are attacking through the summon and its stats are based directly off of your stats.

It's just in the standard summoning rules:

SUMMONED CREATURE
A creature you summon uses these rules, unless a
power description says otherwise.
...
✦ Attacks and Checks: If a summoning power
allows the summoned creature to attack, you make
an attack through the creature, as specified in the
power description. If the summoned creature can
make a skill check or an ability check, you make
the check. Attacks and checks you make through
the creature do not include temporary bonuses or
penalties to your statistics.


Any bonus that goes away after some time (end of next turn, end of encounter, etc...) would be a temporary bonus, so wouldn't help your attacks with the summons. However the summons is a creature so it can be subject to effects on its own - temporary bonuses to hit from your allies' powers, ongoing poison damage from a monster, etc...
 

log in or register to remove this ad

RAI clearly suggest that flanking is tied to opportunity attacks, so no opp attacks=no flanking.

What? Where? Do you have a citation for this?

If you're arguing from your table's interpretation of the rules, that's hardly "rules as intended", that's "rules as I play at my table."

Here's what the actual rules on flanking say (RC, pg. 218): "Restrictions: A creature cannot flank an enemy that it can't see. A creature also cannot flank while it is subject to any effect that prevents it from taking actions. If no line of effect exists between a creature and its enemy, the creature cannot flank the enemy."

Nothing about opportunity actions at all; the bolded passage suggests that a stunned summoned creature wouldn't be able to make OAs any more than a stunned pc could, but that's it.

Checking the rules for opportunity attacks, there is absolutely no mention of flanking; the rules for OAs and flanking have nothing to do with each other.

Looking at the rules for summoned creature, there's no mention of "cannot flank" there either. It does say "A summoned creature is an ally to its summoner and the summoner's allies," which- returning to flanking- seems to meet the requirements: "To flank an enemy, a creature and at least one of its allies must be adjacent to the enemy and on opposite sides..."

All that said, if you actually have a rules citation to back up your position I'd love to see it; although there haven't been many summons spells in my 4e campaign, I do prefer to get the rules right when they come up. ;)
 

Plus, note the summoning rules posted above- a summoned creature has no actions of its own by default and the default commands include no opportunity actions. It only gains an opportunity action if a special command for an opportunity attack is given in the spell's description.

No argument there.

This seems like a very strict RAW interpretation. Besides summons don't have any opportunity actions other than opp attacks (possibly).

RAI clearly suggest that flanking is tied to opportunity attacks, so no opp attacks=no flanking. Plus, that rule is from the player's handbook- it's written for players, who will always have opportunity attacks and only wouldn't if an effect prevented opportunity actions. If you had the summons' handbook, i'm sure the combat chapter would say something like:

"If you are lucky enough to have been created with an opportunity attack then you can flank with your master's allies. Otherwise, you cannot flank since you have no opportunity attack to use."

It's true, the rule was written for PCs so it doesn't speak exactly to creatures that have no opportunity attacks. But as it's the only rule that specifies how opportunity attacks interact with flanking, it's imporant to distinguish that the rule talks about what happens when you are prevented from taking OAs, not whether you have them.

I think the RAI is that summoned creatures can provide flanking. And if there was a summoning handbook, I think the combat entry would simply say: "Summoned creatures can provide flanking."
 

Hayek didn't actually say "RAW" in the statement above. "RAI" is a different and entirely theoretical ball game. I mean someone could say "RAI every PC should be fighting in a prom dress" and there's about as much support saying they're right as that they're wrong.

Arguing over RAI is generally a waste of breath & energy. When I was first haunting these and other forums years ago I'd assume for the longest time that RAI meant "Rules as Interpreted" as it's pretty obvious that everyone has their own version of them. I'm still not sure I was wrong.

RAI, hayek could be right or could be wrong. RAW you're right, there's no rule saying "a creature much be able to make an OA in order to flank." It is pretty easy to hypothesize that was the intention. When the PHB was written, there wasn't a creature around that didn't have an OA (I think). The rules are a bit dated, as we've seen.

This, however, is me attempting to fight hayek's battle. I don't think that's necessary, as they've done a wonderful job so far supporting their own arguments.
 

This seems like a very strict RAW interpretation. Besides summons don't have any opportunity actions other than opp attacks (possibly).

Well, let's look at the whole bit then, shall we?

Must Be Able to Attack: You and your ally must be able to attack the enemy, whether you’re armed or unarmed. If there’s no line of effect between your enemy and either you or your ally, you don’t flank. If you’re affected by an effect that prevents you from taking opportunity actions, you don’t flank.​

By the book, summoned creatures can attack (by using the summoner's action) and are considered allies by dint of being summoned (rather than conjured), which would lead us to believe that they can flank so long as they aren't subject to an anti-OA effect (regardless of whether or not they can actually take OAs).
 
Last edited:

Hayek didn't actually say "RAW" in the statement above. "RAI" is a different and entirely theoretical ball game. I mean someone could say "RAI every PC should be fighting in a prom dress" and there's about as much support saying they're right as that they're wrong.

Arguing over RAI is generally a waste of breath & energy.

Agreed, ignore all parts of my argument referencing RAI. I think summons without opportunity attacks don’t grant flanking b/c of RAW:

1. Per Wednesday Boy’s quote from the rules, you don’t get flanking if you can’t take opportunity actions.
2. Per Aulirophile’s posting of the summoning rules, summoned creatures don’t get any actions on their own (which would include opportunity actions) and are only granted an opportunity action if the text of the spell says they get one (through an opportunity attack).

What? Where? Do you have a citation for this?

I was referencing the rules citation that Wednesday Boy provided:

The rules for flanking say "If you’re affected by an effect that prevents you from taking opportunity actions, you don’t flank." not that if you have no opportunity attack you cannot flank. My interpretation of that is that summons can flank even if they don't have an OA.

This also jives with what I always remember that the rules for flanking were – must be able to take opportunity/immediate actions to flank.

If you're arguing from your table's interpretation of the rules, that's hardly "rules as intended", that's "rules as I play at my table."

Feel free to ignore all references to RAI in my argument.

Here's what the actual rules on flanking say (RC, pg. 218): "Restrictions: A creature cannot flank an enemy that it can't see. A creature also cannot flank while it is subject to any effect that prevents it from taking actions. If no line of effect exists between a creature and its enemy, the creature cannot flank the enemy."

Nothing about opportunity actions at all; the bolded passage suggests that a stunned summoned creature wouldn't be able to make OAs any more than a stunned pc could, but that's it.

I believe the original PHB provided the rules as Wednesday Boy quoted them – Opp Attacks rely on being able to take Opportunity Actions. Whether I’m right or wrong, the Rules Cyclopedia seems to have changed that rule, but since it is most recent I guess I’ll accept that as the new rule (assuming of course that it’s not a misprint because misprints and errata never happen).

In that case, there’s a few issues with the rule as the RC states it that I would appreciate hearing your take on, Jester:

1 . There are many utility summons in the game that have absolutely no ability to attack whatsoever. Iron Cohort for example – just moves around the battlefield until you command it to soak up an attack for you. Are you arguing that this creature can flank even though it has no offensive powers whatsoever?

2. Familiars are creatures (and allies) when in their active state, however they cannot flank. They are capable of taking the same actions as an Iron Cohort, why can the Iron Cohort flank if familiars cannot?

I don’t have books in front of me, so I can’t look up the familiar rule, but I can assure you it exists because there is a level 2 wizard utility power, Familiar Harrier, that lets you teleport your familiar and then allows it (obviously as an exception to the normal rules) to count as an ally for the purposes of flanking.

As you quote the RC: A creature also cannot flank while it is subject to any effect that prevents it from taking actions.

All summoned creatures are subject to an important effect that prevents them from taking actions: they don’t have any actions to take. The summoning rules say they have no actions of their own except for those granted by the text of the spell.

Must Be Able to Attack:...If you’re affected by an effect that prevents you from taking opportunity actions, you don’t flank.
By the book, summoned creatures can attack (by using the summoner's action) and are considered allies by dint of being summoned (rather than conjured), which would lead us to believe that they can flank so long as they aren't subject to an anti-OA effect (regardless of whether or not they can actually take OAs).

1. This argument seems to concede that utility summons such as Iron Cohort cannot flank because they don't have any attack powers. Yay!

2. So let me get this straight, you're saying I have a dretch that I've summoned and it can't take opportunity actions, but i can move it in position to flank with my party's rogue. Then an enemy zaps my dretch with a power that says 'The target can no longer take opportunity actions'. This changes ABSOLUTELY NOTHING about the powers/actions/abilities of the dretch in ANYWAY WHATSOEVER, but it suddenly can't flank because of the power. I'm not sure how to point out how illogical this argument is other than to use LARGE CAPITAL LETTERS to point out its inconsistencies...

Clearly the dretch was already subject to an anti-flanking effect by the very nature of its existence. That's why nothing changed about it when it was hit by an opportunity action-preventing power.
 
Last edited:

So let me get this straight, you're saying I have a dretch that I've summoned and it can't take opportunity actions, but i can move it in position to flank with my party's rogue. Then an enemy zaps my dretch with a power that says 'The target can no longer take opportunity actions'. This changes ABSOLUTELY NOTHING about the powers/actions/abilities of the dretch in ANYWAY WHATSOEVER, but it suddenly can't flank because of the power. I'm not sure how to point out how illogical this argument is other than to use LARGE CAPITAL LETTERS to point out its inconsistencies...

I'm not arguing in any way with the conceptual inconsistency of the idea -- I'm not even saying that I necessarily agree with the way the rule works -- only that by the logic of the rules as written, that would seem to be the way it'd work... If that Dretch gets Dazed or Stunned, it would stop flanking, even though it technically can't make OAs to begin with.

(For that matter, how do you Stun or Daze a summoned creature that has no actions of its own?)

It's silly, yes, but such are the rules of the game, sometimes.

Clearly the dretch was already subject to an anti-flanking effect by the very nature of its existence. That's why nothing changed about it when it was hit by an opportunity action-preventing power.

No. The omission of the ability to make Opportunity Attacks in the summoned creatures stats is not an "effect that prevents Opportunity Attacks". Stunned, Dazed, a successful hit from Phantasmal Assault are all examples of such effects.
 

1. Per Wednesday Boy’s quote from the rules, you don’t get flanking if you can’t take opportunity actions.

I was referencing the rules citation that Wednesday Boy provided:

This also jives with what I always remember that the rules for flanking were – must be able to take opportunity/immediate actions to flank.

I believe the original PHB provided the rules as Wednesday Boy quoted them – Opp Attacks rely on being able to take Opportunity Actions.

Sorry to get nit-picky but the important distinction in what I quoted is that it's not that you must be able to take opportunity actions to get flanking. It's that you can't be affected by an effect that prevents you from taking opportunity actions in order not to flank. (Although that is going from the online Compendium. I have no idea what the Essentials Rules Compendium says, maybe they cleaned up the wording in it.)

1 . There are many utility summons in the game that have absolutely no ability to attack whatsoever. Iron Cohort for example – just moves around the battlefield until you command it to soak up an attack for you. Are you arguing that this creature can flank even though it has no offensive powers whatsoever?

Nope, "You and your ally must be able to attack the enemy, whether you’re armed or unarmed." Since the Iron Cohort can't attack the enemy, they can't flank.

All summoned creatures are subject to an important effect that prevents them from taking actions: they don’t have any actions to take. The summoning rules say they have no actions of their own except for those granted by the text of the spell.

2. So let me get this straight, you're saying I have a dretch that I've summoned and it can't take opportunity actions, but i can move it in position to flank with my party's rogue. Then an enemy zaps my dretch with a power that says 'The target can no longer take opportunity actions'. This changes ABSOLUTELY NOTHING about the powers/actions/abilities of the dretch in ANYWAY WHATSOEVER, but it suddenly can't flank because of the power. I'm not sure how to point out how illogical this argument is other than to use LARGE CAPITAL LETTERS to point out its inconsistencies...

What Pbartender said.
 

I'm not arguing in any way with the conceptual inconsistency of the idea -- I'm not even saying that I necessarily agree with the way the rule works -- only that by the logic of the rules as written, that would seem to be the way it'd work...
...
It's silly, yes, but such are the rules of the game, sometimes.
...
No. The omission of the ability to make Opportunity Attacks in the summoned creatures stats is not an "effect that prevents Opportunity Attacks". Stunned, Dazed, a successful hit from Phantasmal Assault are all examples of such effects.

This still doesn't explain why familiars in their active state can't flank. They are creatures capable of taking actions and even capable of attacking if you choose the right one. Yet, even when not subjected to an OA-preventing effect they can't flank.

I would say familiars can't flank because there is no difference between:

1. being subjected to an effect that prevents Opportunity Actions
and
2. not having any Opportunity Actions

How else do you explain their inability to flank?

As a larger observation that relates back to the OP's post, this goes to show that summons are a poorly supported game feature from a rules perspective and brining them into the game usually results in lots of confusing, murky situations.
 

How else do you explain their inability to flank?

By directing you to page 137 of Arcane Power, where it specifically states that familiars can't flank.

As a larger observation that relates back to the OP's post, this goes to show that summons are a poorly supported game feature from a rules perspective and brining them into the game usually results in lots of confusing, murky situations.

Yep, you've got that right.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top