Switching Places with a Larger Creature

Camelot

Adventurer
What happens when a Medium or Small creature switches places (like with the monk's at-will attack dragon's tail) with a creature larger than it? I'm particularly stumped when a creature or obstacle is blocking the placement of the larger creature.

Currently, I'm ruling that, after the switch, each creature has to occupy a square that the other creature occupied before the switch. You simply move into that position via the shortest way possible, and don't provoke OAs (since it's not technically a "move"). Obstacles just stump me. Examples:

L = Large creature, M = possible locations for Medium creature, which the creature doing the switching chooses, O = obstacle

1)
. . . . . . / / . . . . . .
. .L.L. . . / / . .M.M. . .
. .L.L. . . --> . .M.L.L. .
. . . .M. . / / . . .L.L. .
. . . . . . / / . . . . . .

2)
. . . . . . / / . . . . . . / / . . . . . .
. .L.L. . . / / . .M.L.L. . / / . .M. . . .
. .L.L.M. . --> . .M.L.L. . -OR . .M.L.L. .
. . . . . . / / . . . . . . / / . . .L.L. .
. . . . . . / / . . . . . . / / . . . . . .

3)
. . . . . .
. .L.L. . .
. .L.L.C. . --> ???
. . . .M. .
. . . . . .
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Currently, I'm ruling that, after the switch, each creature has to occupy a square that the other creature occupied before the switch. You simply move into that position via the shortest way possible, and don't provoke OAs (since it's not technically a "move"). Obstacles just stump me. Examples:

Specifically, you shift to their space, they are slid to your space. This allows for a lot of possibility for creatures who occupy multiple squares.

L = Large creature, M = possible locations for Medium creature, which the creature doing the switching chooses, O = obstacle

1)
. . . . . . / / . . . . . .
. .L.L. . . / / . .M.M. . .
. .L.L. . . --> . .M.L.L. .
. . . .M. . / / . . .L.L. .
. . . . . . / / . . . . . .

2)
. . . . . . / / . . . . . . / / . . . . . .
. .L.L. . . / / . .M.L.L. . / / . .M. . . .
. .L.L.M. . --> . .M.L.L. . -OR . .M.L.L. .
. . . . . . / / . . . . . . / / . . .L.L. .
. . . . . . / / . . . . . . / / . . . . . .

Both of these are perfectly legal.

3)
. . . . . .
. .L.L. . .
. .L.L.C. . --> ???
. . . .M. .
. . . . . .


In this case there is a legal slide the large creature can take to occupy your space.

3)
. . . . . .
. . . . . .
. . .M.C. . --> ???
. . .L.L. .
. . .L.L. .[/QUOTE]

It would require a greater obstacle to make a swap illegal.
 

So you're allowed to slide the creature more than one square to reach your space, as long as you don't slide it away from you?

So say you're attacking a large creature between two pillars:

. . . . . .
. .L.L. . .
. .L.L.O. .
. . .O.M. .
. . . . . .

In that case the swap would just be illegal.
 

Remove ads

Top