Thanee said:but it's clear enough, that the intent of the rules in general is, that no two spells of the same effect (or even the very same spell twice) should have any added benefit.
I do not disagree.
I do see, however, that having a targeted duration spell up twice minimally protects you from losing it quickly via Dispel Magic. Two Blur spells, although they do not stack, one get Dispelled, the other is still protecting you.
This works for all other such spells, but according to a "nope, no benefits at all" philosophy, does not work for "temporary points" type of spells such as multiple Protection From Energy, multiple temporary hit points, etc.
So, we seem to have a contradiction here in the intent of the rules. The intent of multiple similar spells is that they do not stack, but you do not lose either spell either. The overlap type of solution goes against that "intent of the rules" for some form of perceived imbalance sake.
Not that adjusting how spells work for balance is not important, but it is a difference between RAW and DM preference.