the 6th level spell that destroyed our party (Acid Fog)


log in or register to remove this ad

thanks all

OK thanks everyone. This is clearly a game-balance issue.

We were trying to use logic -- silly us.

One of the PC's brought this "attended object" issue up, saying "hey I thought objects on the PC were not affected."

The GM said something like "yeah, acid strong enough to kill you won't effect that delicate paper hanging off your belt, or your soft cloak."

That was pretty convincing at the time, but it was wrong according to the rules and simply makes the spell too uber.

I'm sure he will "rewind and reload." He's a reasonable GM and we all were unclear on the spell.

Incidentally, strangely enough, an unattended 2-handed sword is likely to dissolve in one or, at most, two rounds of Acid Fog. An attended flower (held in a PC's hand, for example), comes through any number of rounds unscathed.

Sometimes game balance just trumps, utterly, logic.

I'm ok with that.
 

Gee, and here I thought it was going to be about Acid Fog followed up by wall of force.

Your DM really need to have a "do-over" either that, or this was all some very vivid nightmare and you are actually all fine.

I'd run like hell once you guys face 17th level mages. The Disjunctions will be flying left and right.
 

Obviously, objects carried by the PCs are protected by the Dude Factor, and so aren't subject to damage until the Dude Factor is exhausted.

I'm pretty sure Disintegrate and Destruction leave a pile of stuff alongside the dust/ashes.

Anyways, you got screwed by a bad ruling. Your lucky he didn't have any of your items start exploding as they dissolved.
 

Going strictly by the rules, if you were in an acid fog, using a wand, let's say, and you got disarmed, wouldn't that wand become an unattended object? And start taking acid damage? It makes Acid Fog followed up by a quickened Grease seem like a pretty powerful spell combo.

Still nothing like what your DM pulled, though. Yikes.
 




That probably is a bit harsh, yet.. The impression I'm getting of this is not the DM going "Alright, Acid Fog has been cast, lemme check what it can do.. Oops, it's gonna destroy all of your stuff;" it's the DM going "cool, I can use this spell to destroy their stuff." If destroying equipment is what the DM thought the spell did off the top of his head, then he probably was thinking along the lines of the latter statement.
 

Asmo said:
Wow, isn´t that a little bit harsh? The dm makes a bad call once and you want to replace him?
I think it's not so much the fact of the bad call. It's more the egregiously screwful nature of the call, combined with the DM's failure to realize how much screwage was involved. His ruling made 6th-level acid fog far more dangerous than 9th-level disjunction, and that should have been obvious to him before he even ran the combat.

If the DM did not realize that, he just owes the players an apology and a re-run of the combat.

But if he did realize the problem and used the spell anyway, without attempting to correct the problem or find clarification, then I'd agree with IndyPendant. It'd be time for a new DM (and a rousing game of "cram the dice in the doofus").
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top