The chamberlain, the king, and the dragon (drobe)

As Thurgon lands into the water from his great leap from the balcony, this scene plays out before him. A thrumming begins in the hand hefting his worthy hammer. As you land, an instantaneous divine revelation floods your mind's eye. You see malevolent corners in the dark, shadowy eyes stalking the noble knights of your order, and an eladrin of such immeasurable beauty that it almost steals your breath. You see her and the former Lord Commander of your noble order embraced in a bedding. You see the flash of a knife and and an endless flow of red as it is plunged repeatedly into his bared chest.

You know beyond all doubt that Kord just initiated communion with you and you know this miserable creature before you brought the darkness down upon your order.
OK, so I'm in I13, with the swarms and the dryad adjacent to me.

I take my damage (27 + OG 5) which drops me to 29 hp - bloodied (arthropods crawl through my armour as the necrotic aura leeches my life force).

The vision from Kord is shocking - but I can also see that Lucann, and Quinn (of all people!) are somehow moved by this wretch.

I attack all three targets with Strength from Valour (CB 1). I am crushing arthropods under my hammer, but will not kill the dryad: wrath - and unconsciousness if I do enough damage to make her faint in fear - will do for the moment. Apart from anything else, I'm wondering - did she betray my commander and order, or did he betray us? Does she have something do with why I was sent into the wilderness?

Attack vs S1: +18 + 2 from d20 vs Fort = 20, damage is 3 from Hammer Rhythm +10 for close vulnerability is 13 (by it's text, Hammer Rhythm does not get any bonus I would normally get to weapon damage, but vulnerability does not come from me - I will leave it for the GM, [MENTION=6696971]Manbearcat[/MENTION], to block this rules interpretation should he be so inclined.)

Attack vs S2: +18 + 4 from d20 vs Fort = 22, damage is 1d8+12 = 3+12 = 15, +10 for vulnerability = 25.

Attack vs Dryad: +18 + 13 from d20 vs Fort = 31, damage is 15 also.

I gain 10 temp hp. I use a minor action to LoH myself (none left now) which takes me to 53 hp - unbloodied as I resolve not to fall in this garden of all places. I have 8 HS left, and a daily heal effect which I will use the round after next to help Lucann or Quinn - but I want to use Arc of Vengeance first while I'm in a good spot for AoEs and have a temp hp buffer. (@LostSoul, [MENTION=16586]Campbell[/MENTION] - are you able to Second Wind if you're on the verge of collapse?)

I use another minor action for Call of Challenge (Thurgon curses the scuttling arthropods while focusing his ire on the dryad - "Tell me the truth about the fall of the Iron Tower!"): enemies in CBurst3 (mostly the swarms and dryad, I think) are subject to my divine sanction until the end of my next turn, which softens them up a bit for Arc of Vengeance.

Save vs OG 5 poison is a 1 - that's what a temp hp buffer is for!
 

log in or register to remove this ad

With the dryad no longer being Lucann's adversary does oath of enmity get refreshed? If so is he in reach of Thurgon? This is turning downright Shakespearean.
 

OK, so I'm in I13, with the swarms and the dryad adjacent to me.

I take my damage (27 + OG 5) which drops me to 29 hp - bloodied (arthropods crawl through my armour as the necrotic aura leeches my life force).

I'd like your take on a rules issue right quick as I'm 50:50 with a slight inclination toward (a) on this and could be moved either way. This specific issue has never come up in my home game and the rules are (as they should be with exception based design) silent here. [MENTION=16586]Campbell[/MENTION], [MENTION=386]LostSoul[/MENTION], [MENTION=27570]sheadunne[/MENTION], feel free to thumbs up or down.

Swarm of Shadows (the 5 * 5 yellow square) is a zone that lasts until the end of the encounter; it does not need to be sustained by the Dryad. However, its power source is the Dryad's patron. With the successful Skill Challenge against the Dryad, she has been decoupled from her patron. Would:

(a) Swarm of Shadows ends instantaneous to the effect of her decoupling from her patron.

(b) Swarm of Shadows lasts until the end of the encounter regardless.

If your inclination is (a), then you would not take the 5 cold damage from Swarming Shadows this round and you wouldn't be subjected to its slow (save ends) effect. Nor would anyone else going forward, including your enemies (its creatures in zone), and I'd need to strike it from the map.

I attack all three targets with Strength from Valour (CB 1). I am crushing arthropods under my hammer, but will not kill the dryad: wrath - and unconsciousness if I do enough damage to make her faint in fear - will do for the moment.

Understood. After your attack below she is at 71 HP. FYI for everyone, she is no longer possesses Vulnerable 5 Radiant and you guys no longer take damage from her aura.

Apart from anything else, I'm wondering - did she betray my commander and order, or did he betray us? Does she have something do with why I was sent into the wilderness?

I suspect we will find that out soon enough!

Attack vs S1: +18 + 2 from d20 vs Fort = 20, damage is 3 from Hammer Rhythm +10 for close vulnerability is 13 (by it's text, Hammer Rhythm does not get any bonus I would normally get to weapon damage, but vulnerability does not come from me - I will leave it for the GM, @Manbearcat , to block this rules interpretation should he be so inclined.)

I'm certain your rules interpretation is correct here (+ 10 for CB Vuln applying to Hammer Rhythm). As you mention, the nonapplicable bonuses are bonuses you would typically get to Weapon keyword attacks due to PC build (feats et al). S1 would take 13 damage.

I use another minor action for Call of Challenge (Thurgon curses the scuttling arthropods while focusing his ire on the dryad - "Tell me the truth about the fall of the Iron Tower!"): enemies in CBurst3 (mostly the swarms and dryad, I think) are subject to my divine sanction until the end of my next turn, which softens them up a bit for Arc of Vengeance.

1) For any onlookers who may be unaware of what Thurgon/pemerton is doing here, it is thematic tanky stuff; the targets are marked (- 2 to attack anyone but Thurgon) and subjected to Kord's divine wrath (8 charisma damage in this case) through Thurgon, until the end of his next turn, if they violate the mark.

On her hands and knees, barely able keep her head free from the knee-deep water, she breaths an exhausted "...your commander was murdered by my vile hands...I am beyond atonement...strike me down good sir knight..."

Not in the smarmy "good sir knight" tone of the Lord Chamberlain. Sincere and beaten this time.

With the dryad no longer being Lucann's adversary does oath of enmity get refreshed? If so is he in reach of Thurgon? This is turning downright Shakespearean.

While she is not at 0 HP technically, effectively she is defeated for your purposes and no longer an enemy so yes, it would refresh.

I assume you're asking if Thurgon is in reach for Loyal Sanction (and not melee reach)? Yes, he is within a Close Burst 5 of you. I will update the battle map soon. I'd like to get you guys' take on Swarm of Shadows first. [MENTION=27570]sheadunne[/MENTION], if I don't hear back from you before I update the map, I'm going to place you in I3 as you stated that you wanted to "challenge the Quicklings". If you took the 5 damage from the Bramblethorn rather than falling prone, you could accomplish that with a move action (and your Passive Perception is beyond their Stealth check). If that is not what you wish, please let me know when you are able.

This is one of the great difficulties of play-by-post. Information conveyance is not real time, not perfect resolution, and context can be lost (or glossed over such as the above where I missed pemerton's intent with his declared action).
 

I'd like your take on a rules issue right quick

<snip>

Swarm of Shadows (the 5 * 5 yellow square) is a zone that lasts until the end of the encounter; it does not need to be sustained by the Dryad. However, its power source is the Dryad's patron. With the successful Skill Challenge against the Dryad, she has been decoupled from her patron. Would:

(a) Swarm of Shadows ends instantaneous to the effect of her decoupling from her patron.

(b) Swarm of Shadows lasts until the end of the encounter regardless.

<snip>

she is no longer possesses Vulnerable 5 Radiant and you guys no longer take damage from her aura.
For the sake of total clarity, the aura and Swarm of Shadows are different things?

Assuming so, my view on Swarm of Shadows is - if it didn't need her to sustain it, then why would it fade when she is transformed. Indeed, if she is now returning to the (twi)light, why would it even fade out at the end of the encounter? Maybe all her inner darkness is leeching out to sustain it and even grow it.

Presumably she is also affected by it now.

On her hands and knees, barely able keep her head free from the knee-deep water, she breaths an exhausted "...your commander was murdered by my vile hands...I am beyond atonement...strike me down good sir knight..."
With the dryad no longer being Lucann's adversary does oath of enmity get refreshed? If so is he in reach of Thurgon? This is turning downright Shakespearean.
Don't worry, I'm not going to kill her, for three reasons:

(1) I'm not a murderer, and barely even a justiciar. I'm first and foremost a noble warrior.

(2) To the extent that she deserves justice, it can be meted out in due course after the full truth has been learned.

(3) You seem somewhat attached to her!

I assume you're asking if Thurgon is in reach for Loyal Sanction (and not melee reach)?
I'm 100% assuming melee range! I sense some incoming spear, if Lucann doesn't come to his senses and recognise the full gravity of the situation.
 

Swarm of Shadows (the 5 * 5 yellow square) is a zone that lasts until the end of the encounter; it does not need to be sustained by the Dryad. However, its power source is the Dryad's patron. With the successful Skill Challenge against the Dryad, she has been decoupled from her patron. Would:

(a) Swarm of Shadows ends instantaneous to the effect of her decoupling from her patron.

(b) Swarm of Shadows lasts until the end of the encounter regardless.

If your inclination is (a), then you would not take the 5 cold damage from Swarming Shadows this round and you wouldn't be subjected to its slow (save ends) effect. Nor would anyone else going forward, including your enemies (its creatures in zone), and I'd need to strike it from the map.

I Choose C. Swarm of Shadows lasts until the end of the round and then goes away (i.e. the start of the Dryads following turn after she has been decoupled).

if I don't hear back from you before I update the map, I'm going to place you in I3 as you stated that you wanted to "challenge the Quicklings". If you took the 5 damage from the Bramblethorn rather than falling prone, you could accomplish that with a move action (and your Passive Perception is beyond their Stealth check). If that is not what you wish, please let me know when you are able.

I3 is perfect.
 

For the sake of total clarity, the aura and Swarm of Shadows are different things?

Aura: See initiating post 124

[sblock]Three things you both know right off the bat that is common to the Dryad:

1 - Brambles (Aura 2) Any creature that ends its turn in the aura takes 5 damage.

2 - Tree Stride (move 8) as an at-will Move Action to another tree/plant.

3 - Deceptive Veil as an at-will Minor Action to take on an illusory image of a medium sized creature (Insight at Hard DC).[/sblock]

Swarming Shadows: See round 2 post 132

[sblock]As it pulls power directly from its dark patron, the movements of the shadow invocation rend its flesh further where Lucann has opened it (10 damage for non-basic attack). Swarming Shadows engulf the area around Lucann and Quinn, their unnerving howls bringing a chill down the spine of the most hardened warrior. Wanting to feel the warmth of fresh blood spilled on its face, the creature engages Lucann in mortal combat (moves to G9) and unleashes a fury of primal and shadow magic. Simultaneously, one of the hungry swarms moves in for the kill...

Standard Action: Swarming Shadows:

vs Lucann (9 + 15 = 24 vs 23 Will; hit) - 15 cold damage.
vs Quinn (10 + 15 = 25 vs 27 Will; miss)

Effect (Zone): Ranged Burst 2 centered on G11 (5 * 5 around it - I'll update the map next go around). The burst creates a zone until the end of the encounter. Any creature that starts its turn within the zone takes 5 cold damage and is slowed (save ends).[/sblock]

Assuming so, my view on Swarm of Shadows is - if it didn't need her to sustain it, then why would it fade when she is transformed. Indeed, if she is now returning to the (twi)light, why would it even fade out at the end of the encounter? Maybe all her inner darkness is leeching out to sustain it and even grow it.

This was my reasoning for the 50 on the other side. Rules and fictional-positioning speaking, if a Wizard enacts a zone of which requires no maintenance, and subsequently dies before the encounter ends, the zone remains regardless.

However, I was wondering if folks thought this might be a special case (fictional positioning wise) that might change the situation. Given that it is "creatures" instead of "enemies" it just adds to keep the combat interesting but doesn't provide advantage.

So you're firmly in the (b) camp with the reasoning related to the Wizard example above.

@sheadunne is somewhere between. I'll see what the others say. It brings no advantage and I have no dog in the fight. Just an interesting bit of rules interaction with precedence that would otherwise declare (a) as correct.

Presumably she is also affected by it now.

Its creatures so S1 was affected by it this turn; buffed to 15 damage given the 10 vuln to AoE + the slow effect. So it is currently within the SS (15 damage at start of turn + slow [save ends]) and Quinn's VoA (immobilized [save ends] and he can pull)
 
Last edited:

Don't worry, I'm not going to kill her, for three reasons:

(1) I'm not a murderer, and barely even a justiciar. I'm first and foremost a noble warrior.

(2) To the extent that she deserves justice, it can be meted out in due course after the full truth has been learned.

(3) You seem somewhat attached to her!

Theren has no issues with dispatching the Dryad, however, he'll take his lead from Thurgon unless he feels that Thurgon has lost his noble positioning or is in some way acting against his norm (i.e. taking friendship or leadership, not willing to make the hard choice, etc). But right now he's focused on the quicklings. If he's needed somewhere else, a quick shout will be enough.
 

ROUND 4

Zones


[sblock]If you look at the map, there is a gold square centered on G11. This is bad (a place of flitting, moaning black specters, whose voices chills you to the bone and freezes your body with lethergy:

Swarming Shadows: a zone until the end of the encounter. Any creature that starts its turn within the zone takes 5 cold damage and is slowed (save ends).

If you look at the map, there is a pink square centered on I14. This does not affect the good guys but is very, very bad for the bad guys ( @LostSoul Remember, its a minor action for upkeep to sustain this each round and you can use the attack on all enemies in the zone as another minor action.):

Visions of Avarice: Quinn can spend a minor action to attack enemies in the zone on his turn, pulling them 6 squares toward I14 and immobilizing them (save ends). Currently, both the Swarms and Dryad are immobilized there. This is not a visible, tangible effect like Swarming Shadows. It is an illusory effect that puts the object of the creatures' desires within (fake) grasp.[/sblock]

INITIATIVE ORDER

Q1 & Q2 - Quicklings
M - Minion Feygrove Chokers
C - Lucann
D - Dryad
T - Theron
S1 & S2 - Swarms
L - Quinn
P - Thurgon


Actions:

- Quicklings:

Like zephyrs, the Quicklings dart through the knee/thigh high flora, circling Theron, as he has dared to entire their domain. The shadowy gloom and the obscuring flora conceals a generous portion of their diminutive size *. As they close in on their prey, their twisted daggers explode into action. ** The speed of their blows are exhausting. You spend much of your considerable skill in protecting your vitals from their attacks. In the course of it, your attention so focused on deflecting the barrage, you are left vulnerable to further attack.

* Granting them partial concealment * @sheadunne They are flanking you, + 2 for them to hit, and they have partial concealment against you in this foliage, you have - 2 to hit them.

** Quick Cuts * 2:

Quickling 1: 14 + 17 = 31 versus AC 29 (hit); 2d6 + 7 = 16
Quickling 2: 19 + 17 = 36 versus AC 29 (hit); 2d6 + 7 = 16

32 total damage in on Theron and he is dazed (save ends).

Sheadunne - I need you to resolve Polearm Gamble:

Benefit: When a nonadjacent enemy enters a square adjacent to you, you can make an opportunity attack with a polearm against that enemy, but you grant combat advantage to that enemy until the end of the enemy’s turn.

Remember that you have a bonus to your OAs equal to your Wisdom modifier (+ 4) but also remember you have a - 2 to hit due to partial concealment. They will have CA against you regardless so the above still stands. On your turn, you are dazed. You have an ability to clear that but if you do not (or it fails). Dazed means:

[sblock]
bullet.gif
The creature doesn’t get its normal complement of actions on its turn; it can take either a standard, a move, or a minor action. The creature can still take free actions.
bullet.gif
The creature can’t take immediate actions or opportunity actions.
bullet.gif
The creature grants combat advantage.
bullet.gif
The creature can’t flank.[/sblock]

If Polearm Gamble is successful against Q1 then he will be in H2 and if successful against Q2 he will be in H5. Regardless, the above will still stand as you will be giving up CA to them (damage and dazed). I don't believe you have any other interrupt effects that would apply here.


- Minion Feygrove Chokers

A set of malevolent red eyes faintly poke out of the tree near Lucann and attempts to grab him with his grotesquely long arm as before, pulling him into the terrible embrace fo the bramblethorn covered tree. * Lucann's elven speed grants him reprieve. ** A second Choker moves through the trees with the precision of a primate as it closes in on its prey.

* Minion near Lucann: 9 + 17 = 26 versus AC 30 (miss).

** Minion in the tree in S7: Spider climb (2 move actions through trees) to the tree in L3 positioning himself for a follow up attack against Theron in the next round.

- Lucann

@Campbell You are up Lucann. You take 5 cold damage from the Swarm of Shadows and you are slowed (save ends). Resolve the mechanics of your turn and scribe them please. It is quite clear to you at this point that the Dryad has been exorcised of her pact with the dark fey power.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Alright. It's time for an unusual request: I know 2 characters cannot occupy the same square in 4e, but what I want Lucann to do is embrace the dryad and force Thurgon to attack him to attack the dryad.
 

Alright. It's time for an unusual request: I know 2 characters cannot occupy the same square in 4e, but what I want Lucann to do is embrace the dryad and force Thurgon to attack him to attack the dryad.
Mechanically, I think that effect is her going prone, and then you using an interrupt to negate my combat advantage for her being prone and instead give me a -2 to hit (cover), at the cost of suffering an attack yourself also.

The most relevant check would be Acrobatics, I think - probably if you fail your check I get combat advantage against both of you!

Out of nothing more than idle curiosity, how many hit points do you have left?
 

Remove ads

Top