The "Everything Sorcerer" Thread


log in or register to remove this ad

...and be absolutely certain you are in the "back-middle" of the party.

(Clr) => (Wiz) => (Ftr) => (Rog or Rgr) =>
 

Plane Sailing said:
If you are having difficulty in keeping your 1st level sorcerers alive, can I recommend that you take a longspear as your simple weapon? Sorcerers get all simple weapons, and that includes the longspear with its marvellous *reach* - so anyone who attempts to attack you in melee must first face an AoO from you.

Best defensive weapon for the low level sorcerer!

Cheers

Am I right in saying that he can only wield it, and therefore threaten squares with it on rounds where he doesn't cast a spell, though?
 


Gnome said:
Am I right in saying that he can only wield it, and therefore threaten squares with it on rounds where he doesn't cast a spell, though?

Can a wizard cast a spell with a staff in his hands?

If he can, then you can pull the same trick with a spear.

If he can't, take advantage of it the next time you're fighting a spellcasting opponent! :D
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
Can a wizard cast a spell with a staff in his hands?

If he can, then you can pull the same trick with a spear.

If he can't, take advantage of it the next time you're fighting a spellcasting opponent! :D

I'm sure he can cast with a weapon in hand, but is he really wielding it and therefore threatening squares with it on a round he casts a spell?
 

You can add, "... and still be considered to be wielding his staff" to the above. :)

Most people I've noticed who have a problem with sorcerors and longspears have always allowed staff-wielding wizards to pull off this trick, and change their tune when presented with the evidence.

Either they allow you to keep wielding the longspear, or they take away wizard's staff-wielding. :)
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
You can add, "... and still be considered to be wielding his staff" to the above. :)

Most people I've noticed who have a problem with sorcerors and longspears have always allowed staff-wielding wizards to pull off this trick, and change their tune when presented with the evidence.

Either they allow you to keep wielding the longspear, or they take away wizard's staff-wielding. :)

Actually, I wondered if it applied with any weapon, not just the spear. Off the cuff, it would seem to me logically that if a non-movement related action is taken that could provoke an attack of opportunity (casting a spell, drinking a potion), then the character's defenses are down for that round, and he's not really wielding his weapon in the true sense of the word.

I don't know if there's anything in the rules to back that up, though.
 

Gnome said:
Actually, I wondered if it applied with any weapon, not just the spear. Off the cuff, it would seem to me logically that if a non-movement related action is taken that could provoke an attack of opportunity (casting a spell, drinking a potion), then the character's defenses are down for that round, and he's not really wielding his weapon in the true sense of the word.

I don't know if there's anything in the rules to back that up, though.
Even if that were a hard and fast rule, that begins and ends when the caster casts the spell. Therefore, if you adopted that as a rule, and the sorcerer cast a standard action spell, or even a full round spell, after his turn is up, he's back to fully wielding the spear.
 

Gnome said:
I don't know if there's anything in the rules to back that up, though.

There's not, other than:

SRD said:
You only provoke attacks of opportunity when you begin casting a spell, even though you might continue casting for at least one full round. While casting a spell, you don’t threaten any squares around you.
 

Remove ads

Top