Psikerlord#
Explorer
I was DMing an adventure where the BBEG used wild magic. He turned himself into a potted plant mid-fight and one of the party members scooped him up and threw him into a dimensional well. It was a fantastic end!
Btw, where is 'summon a friendly unicorn' on the wild surge table?
47-48 on the 5ed surge table summons a DM-controlled unicorn.
Quick side question /selfthreadjack. At the start of this particular combat I had twinned an enlarge spell on our Barbarian and Monk, which was taken down by an enemy spell caster casting dispel magic on me. After the session, DM and I got into a friendly chat about whether RAI would be that dispel magic would have had to be cast at the subjects of the spell, rather than me, she said that because I'm on concentration and the magical effect is coming from me, dispelling me ends the effect on everyone I'm effecting. I'm not concerned with the ruling (rulings not rules, yay! and besides I would have lost the spell the next turn when I went unconscious anyhow) but just curious how others would rule on this.
That was my initial thought as well iserith, but she made a compelling argument that concentration implies that the source of that enlargement is the magic still coming from me, and so by dispelling me it ends the effect on them. She went on to say that she could have targeted one of them to end it as well, but figured to kill two birds with one stone so to speak. Ultimately I think either ruling is fine, I had just never thought of it the other way before but will be sure to use that trick when I pick up Dispel in a few levels!
To me, it sounds like the enlarged barbarian and monk were wrecking shop and an iffy ruling was the answer.![]()