The stupidest question EVER!

lokiqc

Explorer
Hi

I just feel the need to ask. 3 other players and a DM argued with me overt that.

It's about AoO (oh No!! duck and cover)

Let's say a wizard is on initiative count 15. On initiation count 22, he receives 10 pts of damage. If he wants to cast a spell on initiative 15, does he have to make a concentration check? To me, it's obvious that the answer is no. However 4 other persons looking at me like I was an idiot has made me doubt.


Thanks
 

log in or register to remove this ad


by the core rules no there is no concentration check.


BTW: Yes there are stupid question, but more often there are stupid people who ask questions.:D
 

However 4 other persons looking at me like I was an idiot has made me doubt.

Out of curiosity - are the four other persons recent converts from AD&D?

Spellcasting is generally less fragile in 3E than it used to be.

-Hyp.
 

You are correct, no Conc check needs to be made unless you are dealt dmg on YOUR initiative turn.. so your initiative was 15, if you didn't recieve any dmg on initiatve turn 15, NO conc check needs to be made, EVEN if you where dealt dmg on turn 18, 17, and 16. (although you may not be alive by taking that much dmg! :D )

As stated earlier, it's alot easier to cast spells in 3E in combat.. however, because of this, it's also alot harder to disrupt an enemy spellcaster.
 

Please refer them to pages 125 and 151 of the PHB. Note that it explicitly states that casting a spell takes 1 action (for most spells) and that the only reference is to taking damage WHILE casting said spell. Hence, if you take damage DURING your action, then the spell is POSSIBLY disrupted. Even then, you are able to make a concentration check (unlike in 2E, there any little jostle automatically ended the spellcast).
 

Generally, the only time a spellcaster has to make a concentration check because of damage is if the enemy has a ready action to attack him when he starts casting. Another time is if the spellcaster is taking ongoing damage, like from a Melf's Acid Arrow.

Otherwise, you are correct and there is no AoO (as the others have all confirmed).
 

Also note that if you were casting a spell with a time longer than 1 action (Summon Monster, for example), then yes, that damage on 22 would disrupt a spell started the previous turn.

The other exception is ongoing damage (Melf's, etc.); there's a separate line in the Concentration table for that, though.

"There are no stupid questions, only stupid people."
 

Wippit Guud said:
...And there are no stupid questions.

If a cow laughs, does milk come out her nose?

If Mississippi wore a New Jersey, what would Delaware?

If gamecat posts in red, and nobody reads it, did he really post?
 

You are correct, no Conc check needs to be made unless you are dealt dmg on YOUR initiative turn.. so your initiative was 15, if you didn't recieve any dmg on initiatve turn 15, NO conc check needs to be made, EVEN if you where dealt dmg on turn 18, 17, and 16.

This is partially correct, however, if you roll a 15 for initiative and so does an enemy, who goes first is then determined by higher dex (and then by flipping a coin if need be). So if you go on 15 and your Dex is 12 and the enemy goes on 15 with a 16 Dex he goes first, takes his action, and then you go and take your action. Since your actions do not coincide you have no concentration check to make.

If the enemy ready an action to attack you when you cast a spell however then you have to make the concentration check. In this case the actions are simultaneous.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top