D&D 5E The Youngest Grognard?

Zardnaar

Legend
Recently I turned 41 and I started playing D&D in late 93 with my first campaign in 94.

At the time 2E was the edition but that was for people who have things like gamestores. We had some old red/blue B/X stuff and B2,3,4 and X1. My friends older brother gave it to him and he played in the late 80s. In 95 I switched to 2E, 96 a grognard ran 1E for us.

So I got to play for my early D&D editions that were out of print already although in 94 one player has the Rules Cyclopedia. Very battered versions of Spelljammer were found in the bottom of closets from another friend and old issues if Dungeon and Dragon were also found with new issues bought May 1996.

Now I'm not a grognard in the traditional sense. I do like OSR gaming and probably have a preference but will happily play modern editions mostly due to advantages of getting new players.

I'm sure in not the youngest but I wonder how many people were playing BECMI in 1995 as a new (for them) game. I knew AD&D existed but had really only played computer games.

TSR died 97, 2E went out if print in 2000. I'm sure since then some grognard has played with a new player post 2000 but when I started AD&D and BECMI were still in print with the last BECMI material coming out in 1994.

So my question is how young would the youngest grognard be if they played while those editions were still in print?

A 10 year old could have played in 2000 which would make them 29. It's possible someone younger could have played but I don't think you would remember much or have much attachment to a 6 month or so period before 3E landed.

Another possibility is someone picking up 1E or B/X in the late 90s pre 3E. Probably wouldn't be common but I'm sure it happened.

The youngest grog theoretically is probably around 29, but to remember much or played for a year or two and old enough to remember much 33 or so.