Threatening while holding a bow


log in or register to remove this ad

If you have Quintessential Fighter, there is a prestige class in ther called Master Archer. I am pretty sure he threatens 20 feet around him.
 


Wow, my group has been playing this 100% wrong from the get-go. So let me get this correct: If I am holding a bow and an enemy crosses a square within my 5' reach (a normally threatened square), I can't draw a melee weapon for my AoO? What if I have the Quick Draw feat?

Oh, and just for my curiosity, what page in the PH details this rule? Thanks for the help! :)
 

So let me get this correct: If I am holding a bow and an enemy crosses a square within my 5' reach (a normally threatened square), I can't draw a melee weapon for my AoO?

No. Drawing a weapon is a MEA, and you can only make an MEA on your turn.

What if I have the Quick Draw feat?

No. Drawing a weapon with Quick Draw is a Free Action, and you can only make a Free Action on your turn.

-Hyp.
 

gtJormungand said:
Or you could also have monk level or take the improved unarmed strike. You simple threaten with your feet (or some other unarmed strike).

Hey, Auraseer, why didn't we think of that?

-Hyp.
 

tennyson said:
Wow, my group has been playing this 100% wrong from the get-go. So let me get this correct: If I am holding a bow and an enemy crosses a square within my 5' reach (a normally threatened square), I can't draw a melee weapon for my AoO? What if I have the Quick Draw feat?

Oh, and just for my curiosity, what page in the PH details this rule? Thanks for the help! :)

You can only take free actions while taking any action, which implied that it is during your turn. The actual AoO is not any type of action; it's more of a reaction to a defensive lapse that the opponent makes.

Therefore, you can't quickdraw or draw a melee weapon for an AoO. You can't take any actions.

I'm getting this stuff from PH pages 121 and 122.
 

Nope, you can't, even with Quick Draw -- free actions only execute on your initiative count. Paraphrasing from pg 121 of the PHB: "You can take one or more free actions while taking another action normally."

You could conceivably ready an action to draw a weapon and attack if someone moved into your threatened area, but then that would use up your action for the round.

Your DM is free to rule otherwise, of course, and allow you to take free actions at any time (at which point with Quick Draw you could draw a weapon and execute an AoO, I suppose.)

Edit: Dang, I need the Quick Post (tm) feat!
 
Last edited:



Remove ads

Top