Time Stop and Sovereign Glue

Rkhet

First Post
Here's the scenario: A wizard casts Time Stop, then applies enough glue to root the BBEG to the spot, keep his sword in his hilt, and his lips shut so no more verbal components. Is this legal? Any thoughts?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Rkhet said:
Here's the scenario: A wizard casts Time Stop, then applies enough glue to root the BBEG to the spot, keep his sword in his hilt, and his lips shut so no more verbal components. Is this legal? Any thoughts?

Time stop currently has proscriptions against attacking. I do not know what the exact wording is, but if what you are doing is considered an attack, it may not be allowed.
 

I would call each application a full round action. The BBEG would get a reflex save to flinch as soon as it happened (at the end of the time stop effect) to avoid getting stuck.
 

SRD quotage:

Time Stop

Transmutation

Level: Sor/Wiz 9, Trickery 9

Components: V

Casting Time: 1 standard action

Range: Personal

Target: You

Duration: 1d4+1 rounds (apparent time); see text

This spell seems to make time cease to flow for everyone but you. In fact, you speed up so greatly that all other creatures seem frozen, though they are actually still moving at their normal speeds. You are free to act for 1d4+1 rounds of apparent time. Normal and magical fire, cold, gas, and the like can still harm you. While the time stop is in effect, other creatures are invulnerable to your attacks and spells; you cannot target such creatures with any attack or spell. A spell that affects an area and has a duration longer than the remaining duration of the time stop have their normal effects on other creatures once the time stop ends. Most spellcasters use the additional time to improve their defenses, summon allies, or flee from combat.

You cannot move or harm items held, carried, or worn by a creature stuck in normal time, but you can affect any item that is not in another creature’s possession.

You are undetectable while time stop lasts. You cannot enter an area protected by an antimagic field while under the effect of time stop.

Way I understand it, it just means that they are completely immune to all harm. Doesn't stop me from, say, applying glue or using them like chairs.

Not so much interested in house-rules as I am interested in what the RAW really says about the limits of TS.
 

Rkhet said:
You cannot move or harm items held, carried, or worn by a creature stuck in normal time, but you can affect any item that is not in another creature’s possession.

Way I understand it, it just means that they are completely immune to all harm. Doesn't stop me from, say, applying glue or using them like chairs.

Not so much interested in house-rules as I am interested in what the RAW really says about the limits of TS.

Color change added to emphasize the important part of the SRD.

Think of it this way, would applying glue in melee be an attack, or something which would require you to target something in someones possession?

The RAW pretty much sez, "Sorry, no touching the enemy...yet". In 3.5, Time Stop has been trimmed back to a spell useful for buffing, running or summoning. Not attacking.
 

"cannot move or harm" is quite different from "cannot touch".

Applying glue in melee would indeed be an attack, but would applying glue to an unmoving statue be an attack?
 

FYI I think most DMs would rule that you apply the glue, but it doesn't bond until after TS runs out. This allows the guy to pull free if he realizes it.
 

Rkhet said:
"cannot move or harm" is quite different from "cannot touch".

Applying glue in melee would indeed be an attack, but would applying glue to an unmoving statue be an attack?

If applying it in melee would be an attack, it would be an attack under TS rules. Essentially, TS is hosed as compared with 2.0 TS. Sad but true.

other creatures are invulnerable to your attacks and spells; you cannot target such creatures with any attack or spell. A spell that affects an area and has a duration longer than the remaining duration of the time stop have their normal effects on other creatures once the time stop ends.
 

Okay, a different scenario, then:

Time Stop, Wall of Iron. I tip it over onto the BBEG. It's not a direct attack: I'm just affecting an unattended object. Legal?

Scenario 2:

I levitate over the BBEG. I 'accidentally' drop my bottle of glue, it breaks, goes splash on the BBEG. What now?
 

Rkhet said:
Okay, a different scenario, then:

Time Stop, Wall of Iron. I tip it over onto the BBEG. It's not a direct attack: I'm just affecting an unattended object. Legal?

Scenario 2:

I levitate over the BBEG. I 'accidentally' drop my bottle of glue, it breaks, goes splash on the BBEG. What now?

1. At the very least, it doesn't actually tip over and squish the BBEG until TS ends. I don't, off the top of my head, see anything wrong with trying that.

2. As before, perhaps the glue lands on the BBEG, but it doesn't start adversely affecting the BBEG until TS ends.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top