Tiny Creatures and AOO

trentonjoe

Explorer
Creatures that are Tiny have 0 reach so they must enter their opponets square to attack right?

This means that they draw an AOO (the first time) correct?

Can a medium sized creature attack a creature in its square with a medium weapon, or does it need to take a 5' step back?

THanks in advance, darn quasits.
 

log in or register to remove this ad



Seems pretty clear to me.

He wants to know whether or not a Tiny creature (has 0 reach) has to enter an opponent's square to attack it (yes, it does) and if it will suffer an AoO when it enters an opponent's square (yes).

He also wanted to know if a medium sized or larger creature has to take a 5ft step back to attack a tiny creature in the same square with it(no, he doesn't but it's a smart move - you get to attack and the Tiny creature suffers another AoO in order to attack you).

IceBear
.
 
Last edited:


The one catch to this is if the tiny creature is taking a 5ft step?

I've always rules it, that like bullrush when you step into an opponents square you provoke AOO no matter if you step or move.
 

That's what I thought too - I thought you always suffered an AoO for entering the same square as an opponent (regardless of the 5ft step). I thought the 5ft step prevented movement AoO, but moving into someone's square was a different trigger for the AoO. Maybe that's a house rule? If it is, that's how I've always been treating it.

IceBear
 

dkilgo said:
I see now. Thanks Icebear.

What was the situation that you were in that created this question?

From his comments, I suspect they were attacked by quasits. Maybe "Sunless Citadel"?

IceBear
 

I played in the "Sunless Citadel", and I enjoyed the heck out of it. I just don't recall the quasits.

Oh, crapola, I do now!
 
Last edited:


Remove ads

Top