Touch of Healing [Reserve] feat from Complete Champion Excerpt

Fieari said:
So, what is a "Reserve Feat" anyway?
Reserve feats were introduced in Complete Mage. It is a supernatural ability usable at will, drawing on but not consuming prepared or known spells of the appropriate variety (school, descriptor, whatever). It also provides a caster level bonus to a certain category of spells.
 

log in or register to remove this ad



It is going to make a very interesting feat. I'm not sure how it will be seen a year from now but now I see it as a nice feat that should keep characters alive. I imagine it will help use up more resources faster since it will allow characters to not have to rest so much for healing recharge.
 

Particle_Man said:
Nope, I got the book. You can use it as long as you have a 2nd level conjuration (healing) spell available to cast. You heal one touched creature (3 x level of highest conjuration (healing) spell) damage but only up to 1/2 max hp, at a standard action a pop. Doesn't say whether you can hurt undead with it.

Another perk is that your caster level is considered +1 for all conjuration (healing) spells.

The text doesn't happen to mention whether being able to spontaneously convert prepared spells to cure spells counts as having the spell available to cast, does it? I was hoping this particular argument could be averted before it starts.
 

Not that I know of directly, but based upon the argument that an 18th level sorceror with Heighten Spell, and fireball, and a 9th level slot free, does not get to use a "fire" reserve feat as if he had a 9th level fire spell, I would assume that the good cleric is in the same boat, and would actually have to prepare a conjuration (healing) spell, rather than merely have the ability to convert a spell into a conjuration (healing) spell, for a "healing" reserve feat.

But I preemptively yield to Hypersmurf, Crothian, and other Rules Gods. :)
 


Particle_Man said:
Not that I know of directly, but based upon the argument that an 18th level sorceror with Heighten Spell, and fireball, and a 9th level slot free, does not get to use a "fire" reserve feat as if he had a 9th level fire spell, I would assume that the good cleric is in the same boat, and would actually have to prepare a conjuration (healing) spell, rather than merely have the ability to convert a spell into a conjuration (healing) spell, for a "healing" reserve feat.

"Available to cast" being the keywords IMNSHO, and do not mean the same as "memorized." If "memorized" was the requirement, it would have said so (with exceptions for the spontaneous casters, as is typical). Therefor I would rule that a cleric also always has a conjuration (healing) spell "available to cast" as long as they have any appropriate level spell still available to cast.
 
Last edited:

Particle_Man said:
Not that I know of directly, but based upon the argument that an 18th level sorceror with Heighten Spell, and fireball, and a 9th level slot free, does not get to use a "fire" reserve feat as if he had a 9th level fire spell, I would assume that the good cleric is in the same boat, and would actually have to prepare a conjuration (healing) spell, rather than merely have the ability to convert a spell into a conjuration (healing) spell, for a "healing" reserve feat.
I'm not sure your above argument (is this a ruling for WotC?) says anything about spontaneous healing. It seems more to be saying that the potential for metamagicing a spell into a higher level one doesn't count as the higher level...
 

Kahuna Burger said:
I'm not sure your above argument (is this a ruling for WotC?) says anything about spontaneous healing. It seems more to be saying that the potential for metamagicing a spell into a higher level one doesn't count as the higher level...

Here's the relevant text from Complete Mage (where Reserve Feats were introduced)...

A spellcaster who does not need to prepare spells (such as a sorcerer) must know an appropriate spell and must have at least one unused spell slot of that spell's level or higher.

Since a cleric does not need to prepare Cure spells (i.e. he can cast them spontaneously), he falls into this category with respect to the Touch of Healing reserve feat. The FAQ entry was meant to keep lower level spells + heighten spell from being counted as a higher level spell... Since spontaneous casters only apply the metamagic when the actually cast the spell.

Later
silver
 

Remove ads

Top