Tripped up over cleave

Goldmoon

First Post
I was playing The Temple of elemental evil for the PC and noticed that certain monsters tripped my characters then were able to cleave onto another one of my characters.

According to the RAW, if you use a weapon to trip and deal damage with the trip, can you cleave?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

It depends on how one defines "drop."

SRD under Cleave said:
Benefit

If you deal a creature enough damage to make it drop (typically by dropping it to below 0 hit points or killing it), you get an immediate, extra melee attack against another creature within reach. You cannot take a 5-foot step before making this extra attack. The extra attack is with the same weapon and at the same bonus as the attack that dropped the previous creature. You can use this ability once per round.
 


I play it that tripping an opponent doesn't meet the definition of "dropping an opponent" given in the cleave feat. Cleave specifically states you need to "deal a creature enough damage to make it drop". Tripping in and of itself does not deal any damage.
 

Goldmoon said:
I have always defined drop (and seen it defined in d&d) as falling down or making someone fall down.

Except the rule isn't "make them drop", as in "fall down", it's "If you deal a creature enough damage to make it drop (typically by dropping it to below 0 hit points or killing it)", as in "go unconscious or kill".

In this case, it's not the damage making them "drop". The intent of Cleave is to only allow a second attack if you took your target out of the battle with your first hit. Making someone move into a prone position is not out of the battle. Heck, they can even still attack you from that prone position.
 

Mistwell said:
Except the rule isn't "make them drop", as in "fall down", it's "If you deal a creature enough damage to make it drop (typically by dropping it to below 0 hit points or killing it)", as in "go unconscious or kill".

For the record, this is the interprietation I typically use, despite my attempt at neutrality above.


However, there is an interesting note with the Knockdown feat. It lets you trip the enemy if you deal a certain amount of damage to them (can't recall the exact number, it was amazingly low, like 10 or 15). In this case, you seem to "deal... enough damage to make it drop."
 

What if you dispelling strike as a suel arcanamach(or a spell-storing weapon+dispel)...and dispell their levitation...and they "drop" out of the sky? (You're both flying. And someone else is in reach)?

Or when you kill a summoned monster? They don't drop. They disappear!
 

Trip is definately not a trigger for Cleave (unless you have the Improved Trip feat and your free follow-up attack 'drops' the opponent to below 0 hit points).
 

Goldmoon: I've played that game quite a bit and I don't ever remember one of the monsters tripping my PCs. Just out of curiosity, what was it?
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top