Tripped up over cleave

Ilium said:
Goldmoon: I've played that game quite a bit and I don't ever remember one of the monsters tripping my PCs. Just out of curiosity, what was it?

It was that big fight with the brigands inside the moat house.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Goldmoon said:
According to the RAW, if you use a weapon to trip and deal damage with the trip, can you cleave?
No. Your DM was wrong.

A successful trip attack makes your target prone. Being prone is different that being dropped. Being dropped is being below 0 hit points or dead.

You may note that it's not required to be prone while being dead, nor be dead while being prone. ;)
 

Goldmoon said:
It was that big fight with the brigands inside the moat house.
Ok, those guys never tripped me, but I do remember some...other critters (I don't want to release any spoilers for things you haven't met yet) that did do tripping now that I think about it more. But they only ever took an extra attack on the tripped character, which makes perfect sense if they have Improved Trip. If the free attack drops the tripped character to 0 or fewer hit points then they would get the cleave, of course. Is it possible that's what's happening?
 

Ilium said:
Ok, those guys never tripped me, but I do remember some...other critters (I don't want to release any spoilers for things you haven't met yet) that did do tripping now that I think about it more. But they only ever took an extra attack on the tripped character, which makes perfect sense if they have Improved Trip. If the free attack drops the tripped character to 0 or fewer hit points then they would get the cleave, of course. Is it possible that's what's happening?

No, they werent killing my characters, just tripping them and then getting another attack against another one of my characters.
 

"Drop" was really a poor choice of words given the existance of tripping and rule lawyers. I like...

If you deal a creature enough damage to render it helpless, dead or destroyed, you get an immediate, extra melee attack against another creature within reach. You cannot take a 5-foot step before making this extra attack. The extra attack is with the same weapon and at the same bonus as the attack that dropped the previous creature. You can use this ability once per round.
 

frankthedm said:
"Drop" was really a poor choice of words given the existance of tripping and rule lawyers. I like...

If you deal a creature enough damage to render it helpless, dead or destroyed, you get an immediate, extra melee attack against another creature within reach. You cannot take a 5-foot step before making this extra attack. The extra attack is with the same weapon and at the same bonus as the attack that dropped the previous creature. You can use this ability once per round.

I don't see that as a fair ruling either. If the intent is to be able to "follow through" into another enemy after killing one, why can't you just knock them down with a hit (without killing them) and follow through?
 

Goldmoon said:
I don't see that as a fair ruling either. If the intent is to be able to "follow through" into another enemy after killing one, why can't you just knock them down with a hit (without killing them) and follow through?
Because the game is about killing. Every swing that is not with a non-lethal weapon or with the -4 to deal non lethal damage is an intent to kill.

Cleaving is usually imagined as the foe being cleaved through took such little effort to slay or deal a lethal blow to, the weapon keeps going through that foe into another. It is for weak[ened] foes who are almost a waste to use an attack on. Lots of attacks on worthy foes i s covered by whirlwind attack.

My change in wording just uses established game terms to acomplish the same thing Wotc's wording does, but allows less wiggle room. The "rendered Helpless," covers being K.O.ed with non lethal or dying at -1 to-9, "Dead" covers -10 and worse, and "destroyed" covers things that can be wrecked and deanimated through damage.
 

Ilium said:
.... But they only ever took an extra attack on the tripped character, which makes perfect sense if they have Improved Trip.
Right.

This is it: It wasn't a cleave attack you saw. It was Impr. Trip.
 


Huh. Then your DM was using some feat other than cleave.


....or he/she was using cleave, and didn't understand how it works. (shrug)
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top