Drops a bag of Troll feed on the counter.
Darkness said:
You assume that D&D's mithral is the same as LotR's mithril. But is it? Only WotC knows for sure - for all we know, it could be a slightly different alloy or even something else altogether.
D&D has proven time and again that it's not using the same terms as LotR. Take D&D trolls vs. LotR trolls, for example - not very similar, are they?
Um... "only WotC knows for sure"? Does it even really *matter* what "alloy" it might be? No it does not. All that matters, to the game rules, is the bonuses mitr(i/a)l grants. Everything else is the domain of the setting. Hell, even the bonuses could arguably be different from domain to domain.
I think SKR is being a bit anal about the spelling here, but it's not like most of us even care what he rants about. We can go on referring to it as mithril or mithral all we want.
What matters is not spelling, but communication. If I can understand what you mean whether you write mithril or mithral, the *meaning* has been communicated. You know what I'm referring to, because there aren't two unique metals, one mithril, the other mithral.
The only time spelling or terminology really matter is if there is ambiguity in the statement. Take for example, the following statement: "... the mage wields a morningstar."
Said in the context of, say, an encounter description, wherein there is only one spellcaster, does it matter that I said "mage" rather than "Wizard" or "Sorcerer"? No, it does not.
If, however, I say it in the context of a detailed character description it *does* matter, because the character might suffer a non-proficiency penalty (Wizards are non-proficient, but Sorcerers are proficient). At this point class distiction becomes imperitive.