Two Weapon Fighting and Weapon Finesse

Brother Shatterstone

Dark Moderator of PbP
Okay this is sort of an off suit of the Weapon Finesse thread, I didn’t want to complicate the thread needlessly so I made this one. :)

This was an issue I had sometime ago but I might have been wrong... Now the character is using two finesse-able weapons, a whip and a rapier, while fighting with two weapons at the same time.

(Assume the fallowing 3.5 rules and the fallowing feats: Two weapon fighting, Weapon Finesse)

What would you consider the Two-Weapon fighting penalties to be?

“-4, -4” or “-2,-2”

I went with –4, -4 but now I’m not so sure… :confused:
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

I don't understand what weapon finesse has to do with it. If one of the weapons is size small or 1 handed as 3.5 calls it, the penelty is -2, -2. If the char in question only ever uses the whip or the rapier while fighting, and not both in the same round then there is no penalty at all.
 
Last edited:

-4/-4, no question.

The text specifically states that they are not light weapons. There's no language that the weapon is treated as light, unlike double weapons.
 



The LMS said:
If one of the weapons is size small or 1 handed as 3.5 calls it, the penelty is -2, -2.

Nope, replace "1 handed" with "light."

The LMS said:
If the char in question only ever uses the whip or the rapier while fighting, and not both in the same round then there is no penalty at all.

This is still under some contention. By the rules you can't prove this, although many people support this interpretation.
 

aurance said:
Nope, replace "1 handed" with "light."

Assuming a Medium character, anyway :)

For a Small creature, a 3E Small weapon is a 3.5 One-Handed weapon, but it wouldn't get the reduction iin TWF penalties, so either way he's wrong :)

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Absolutely -4/-4... his off-hand weapon (whichever he uses in his off-hand) is not Light.

Cool, I'm not as dumb looking as my avatar would suggest... ;)

Hypersmurf said:
Why would it be -2/-2?

Ahhhh.... walks away repeating the above... "I'm not as dumb looking as my avatar would suggest."

Hyp, why I have your attention what's your inturptation of:


The LMS said:
If the char in question only ever uses the whip or the rapier while fighting, and not both in the same round then there is no penalty at all.

I pretty much went with the above also... :)
 
Last edited:

Brother Shatterstone said:
Hyp, why I have your attention what's your inturptation of...

Heh. I'm on the other side.

I read the "fight this way" clause of the Two-Weapon Fighting rules to refer to "wielding a second weapon in your off-hand".

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top