Under what circumstances does DR protect against spell damage?

Pielorinho

Iron Fist of Pelor
Does damage reduction ever protect against spell damage? For example, if I cast blade barrier against an opponent with DR, are they partially protected against the damage?

I seem to recall seeing that it doesn't, but I can't remember where; can anyone offer me a cite to a Sage Advice or a FAQ or something in the rules that explains this?

Thanks!
Daniel
 

log in or register to remove this ad

D'oh! Just answered my own question. From the SRD:

Magical attacks and energy attacks (even mundane fire) ignore damage reduction.

I figure this means any damage that's subject to spell resistance isn't subject to DR. Thus, if I throw a boulder at you with TK, DR and not SR applies; if I throw a rock at you from Monte Cook's Mark of Earth spell, SR and not DR applies.

Right?
Daniel
 

Hmm, I remember previous discussions about this but I don't have any hard facts or links to post.

IIRC, it was determined that Blade Barrier damage was a magical effect and thus fell under the 'magic attacks bypassing DR'.

I think it was a Sage Reply that someone got from an email.

Sorry, that's all I can recall about it.
 

Pielorinho said:
I figure this means any damage that's subject to spell resistance isn't subject to DR. Thus, if I throw a boulder at you with TK, DR and not SR applies; if I throw a rock at you from Monte Cook's Mark of Earth spell, SR and not DR applies.

Right?
Daniel

Yup, I think you are correct.
 


DR would protect against spell damage if the damage is not caused directly by the spell.

So, DR would protect against falling damage while in a Reverse Gravity Area.

DR would also protect a creature against damage produced by Greater Magic Weapon or Magic Weapon (provided the enhancement bonus granted by the spell didn't defeat the DR).

DR would also protect against telekinesis hurled boulders, daggers, halflings, etc.

I think that's about it really.
 


Does it specifically state in the Barbarian's DR that it does? I was under the impression that it was just like any other DR, which means that magical attack and energy damage bypasses it.
 

Re: Re: Under what circumstances does DR protect against spell damage?

kreynolds said:


A barbarian's DR does.

Really? The passage from the SRD seems to suggest that DR in general doesn't protect vs. magic or energy; the Barbarian's special ability says it protects against each blow or attack, but doesn't mention energy or magic one way or the other.

Read strictly, it would protect vs. a fireball but not versus a springlbade trap, since the latter isn't an attack. Is there any reason to think a barbarian's DR works differently from all other DR? Has this been clarified anywhere?

Daniel
 


Remove ads

Top