Using A Long Spear In Combat

A PC is using a long spear in combat with his ally standing in front of him like so:


X <--------------- Bad Guy
0 <--------------- Ally
0 <--------------- PC Using Long Spear

Does he have a -4 to his attack roll since his ally is providing the bad guy cover? In some ways I think it should. On the other hand it seems like this is how you should be using a Long Spear and you shouldn't be penalised for it. The PC using the Long Spear is a Sorcerer so he isn't exactly hitting a lot to begin with. I don't want to penalise him any more than I should but I would like to be consistent with the RAW.

Olaf the Stout
 

log in or register to remove this ad

He doesn't get a -4 to his attack roll; the enemy gets +4 to his AC, because the enemy has cover.

This is covered in the Cover rules:

SRD said:
COVER
To determine whether your target has cover from your ranged attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target’s square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a square occupied by a creature, the target has cover (+4 to AC).

When making a melee attack against an adjacent target, your target has cover if any line from your square to the target’s square goes through a wall (including a low wall). When making a melee attack against a target that isn’t adjacent to you (such as with a reach weapon), use the rules for determining cover from ranged attacks.
 

That is how it is supposed to happen.

Reach attacks are supposed to be subject to covr rules, though IIRC the wotc has been FAQing around with the specific wording.
 


Have they really, Frank? Drat.

*goes to check the FAQ*

EDIT: Hrm. I just checked the most recent FAQ, and I couldn't find anything about reach weapons and cover. Care to elucidate?
 
Last edited:

Due to having creatures in the way, the wielder of the reach weapon and the T-Rex will have some difficulty attacking one another.
reachcoverfu4.gif
Patryn of Elvenshae said:
Hrm. I just checked the most recent FAQ, and I couldn't find anything about reach weapons and cover. Care to elucidate?
Was thinking about this bit from the errata.
Player's Handbook v.3.5 Errata 02/17/2006 said:
Soft Cover
Player's Handbook, page 151
Soft cover works against ranged attacks, not melee attacks.
In the first sentence of the paragraph, change “melee” to “ranged.”
scratch.gif
 
Last edited:

Nail said:
"FAQing around"

Heh, heh, heh....

He said "FAQing."

That made my day, frankthedm. :)
I'm with Nail. Now they'll be wondering why I'm smiling in the meeting I'm about to go into.

A sorceror using a long spear through soft cover should really think about just using the 'aid other' action to grant a bonus on attack or AC. The chances of actually doing any damage is remote. Or he set to receive charge to help protect to the ally from charging foes.
 

How would you rule if the PC, wielding a Long Spear, declares he is "choking up" on the spear in order to use it as a Half Spear, Short Spear, or otherwise more as a regular melee type Spear (as opposed to the long reach type spear)?
 

I'd allow it no penalty provided there is no one in the square on the opposite side of them in comparison to the square they plan to attack.

A being "behind" the spear wielder would recieve an AoO on the weapon haft [the spear wielder would not get an AoO even if that AoO is used to sunder or disarm] then the weiled takes a -4 on the choked up attack.

If there is a Wall "behind" the spear wielder, the answer is No.
 

taliesin15 said:
How would you rule if the PC, wielding a Long Spear, declares he is "choking up" on the spear in order to use it as a Half Spear, Short Spear, or otherwise more as a regular melee type Spear (as opposed to the long reach type spear)?

Generally, it's not allowed in the rules (barring some feats called, usually "Choke Up" or "Shift Grip" or similar).

I'd allow him to do it with a -4 penalty, however.

EDIT: Oh, and Frank? A nice Ultima or two will solve your T-Rex problem. :D
 

Remove ads

Top