D&D 5E (2024) Using Action Surge to cast spells in 2024


log in or register to remove this ad

as you pointed out a few posts back, the Magic action can be used for other things than just casting spells, so limiting it to casting spells here does not mean it does not take the Magic action to do so, especially. since the spellcasting rules say that the Magic action is required to cast spells

It is required except when specific rules (like this one and the others I mentioned) change that.
 

It is in the description of the Ready action, under "Ready a spell".
all it says is that you cast the spell as normal, and the normal way to cast it is to use the Magic action… the exception is that you use concentration to delay the spell’s effect until the trigger occurs
 

No matter how much you try and twist things, you aren't going to get around that the others very specifically make exceptions to the rule, where Ready Action does not.

Please tell me where I can find the explicit language that lets me take 2 actions on one turn as long as one of them is the Ready action and the other is the Magic action.

If this is different there should be explicit language stating it shouldn't there be?
 

No they aren't.

A Valor Bard can cast any Cantrip with a casting time of an action as part of the attack action. An Eldritch Knight can cast any Wizard Cantrip, 1st level spell or 2nd level spell as part of the attack action.
ok, still much more restrictive than every single spell with casting time action across all levels
 




you don’t, Ready is not a proper action

Yes it is. It absolutely is. It is on the table of the games main actions. Nowhere, anywhere do the 2024 rules indicate Ready is not an action. Quite the contrary.

Further if it is not a proper action then shouldn't I be able to use another action all the time? Why can't I ready an attack and then take the attack action? I mean if Ready isn't an action, then I don't use my action when I take it right!

Why is it that I can use the Magic action and the Ready action on a turn, but I can't use the Ready action and any other action on a turn?
 

Yes, like this being specifically spelled out in the description of the Ready action and the specificity associated with "Ready a spell" as opposed to "ready the Magic action".
Um...

You explicitly are Readying the Magic Action dude. There's no other way to read, "Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger," You MUST ready the Magic Action in order to take the Magic Action.
 

Remove ads

Top