D&D 5E (2024) Using Action Surge to cast spells in 2024

It is not "normal" to hold the energy until released, it is not "normal" to concentrate on a spell that does not require concentration, and it is not "normal" to cast a spell on your turn using the Ready action. You must cast it as normal except for those things which are explicitly different.
there is no exception mentioned that says you use the Ready action to cast this spell. Holding the energy via Concentration is the only part that is spelled out and not normal
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Do you understand what "specific" means? Specific requires clear specificity, not assuming what Ready Action might, possibly, maybe mean.

Yes, like this being specifically spelled out in the description of the Ready action and the specificity associated with "Ready a spell" as opposed to "ready the Magic action".



If I tell you that there is a monkey in my room, that's specific. If I tell you that there is an animal in my room and you think it's a monkey, you are assuming.

But either way it is specifically in your room and not in my room.

Similarly, it is specifically the Ready action, not the Magic action that you use when you ready a spell.
 


Yes, like this being specifically spelled out in the description of the Ready action and the specificity associated with "Ready a spell" as opposed to "ready the Magic action".
You haven't yet quoted any such specificity, and you can't because it doesn't exist. Vague and unclear =/= specific.
 

They are all alike. None of them state they change the casting time of a spell, but all of them let you cast said spell without using a Magic action.
all of them are specific exceptions for one specific spell. Ready is an ‘exception’ (more like an alternative) for all spells. So no, these are not alike.
 
Last edited:


all of them are specific exceptions for one specific spell.

No they aren't.

A Valor Bard can cast any Cantrip with a casting time of an action as part of the attack action. An Eldritch Knight can cast any Wizard Cantrip, 1st level spell or 2nd level spell as part of the attack action.

I just used Truestrike and Hold Person as examples (like Fireball with the Sorcerer).
 


You haven't yet quoted any such specificity, and you can't because it doesn't exist. Vague and unclear =/= specific.

It is in the rules glossary under Ready action. You can look it up there.

Also where does it specifically let you take 2 actions on your turn if one of them is the Magic action. Tell me where this is EXPLICITLY spelled out.
 

Yes, like this being specifically spelled out in the description of the Ready action and the specificity associated with "Ready a spell" as opposed to "ready the Magic action".
as you pointed out a few posts back, the Magic action can be used for other things than just casting spells, so limiting it to casting spells here does not mean it does not take the Magic action to do so, especially. since the spellcasting rules say that the Magic action is required to cast spells
 

Remove ads

Top