D&D 5E (2024) Using Action Surge to cast spells in 2024

the rules on Quicken say “When you cast a spell that has a casting time of 1 action, you can spend 2 sorcery points to change the casting time to 1 bonus action for this casting”. Since the casting time no longer is action, the Magic action is no longer required, instead the Sorcerer needs to use a Bonus action for it.

That is perfectly aligned with the casting rules I have quoted repeatedly “Most spells require the Magic action to cast, but some spells require a Bonus Action, a Reaction, or 1 minute or more. A spell’s Casting Time entry specifies which of those is required.”

Casting time = action: requires the Magic action

Casting time = bonus action: requires a Bonus Action


This is the same as Ready a Spell. When you Ready a spell you use the Ready action to do it, as per the description of the Ready action.

Also what about an Eldritch Knight that uses an attack action to cast Hold Person? It doesn't say in there "it changes the casting time".

There are specific rules that allow you to cast these spells without using a Magic action.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Exactly, "cast as normal ..." not cast as your reaction. It's very muddled but nothing says ready actually changes the casting time, unlike quicken which explicitly does.
Right. For @ECMO3 to be correct, he would need language similar to, "When you ready a spell, you cast it on your turn as part of the Ready Action, instead of as normal." That would be explicit language backing up his assumptions.
 

but you cannot cast a spell (with casting tine action) without using the Magic action…

Yes you can I gave you numerous examples before

Am 18th level Eldritch Knight CAN cast hold Person using the attack action

A Glamour Bard CAN cast Command using a Bonus action

A Valor CAN cast Truestrike using the attack action

Any caster CAN cast a spell using the Ready action
 

Exactly, "cast as normal ..." not cast as your reaction. It's very muddled but nothing says ready actually changes the casting time, unlike quicken which explicitly does.
Right. I would (tentatively, given my limited knowledge of 5e) go even one step further: all the stuff about casting the spell now while holding the energy seems to establish an express contrast with changing the casting time to 1 Reaction. Unlike Shield, where the caster conjures up the magical effect instantaneously like Dr Strange in a duel with Baron Mordo, the readying caster has conjured up the magic in the normal way and is holding it (in my imagine, it's a colourful swirl of energy in their hand) ready to release it onto its target.
 


Right. For @ECMO3 to be correct, he would need language similar to, "When you ready a spell, you cast it on your turn as part of the Ready Action, instead of as normal." That would be explicit language backing up his assumptions.

You must cast it as normal except for what is changed in the description of Ready a spell.

It is not "normal" to hold the energy until released, it is not "normal" to concentrate on a spell that does not require concentration, and it is not "normal" to cast a spell on your turn using the Ready action. You must cast it as normal except for those things which are explicitly different.

There is explicit language which defines how you use the Ready action (not the Magic action) to cast the spell on your turn.
 

Yes you can I gave you numerous examples before
You gave no similar examples.
Am 18th level Eldritch Knight CAN cast hold Person using the attack action

A Glamour Bard CAN cast Command using a Bonus action

A Valor CAN cast Truestrike using the attack action

Any caster CAN cast a spell using the Ready action
Unlike Ready Action, all of those have explicit language changing things. None of them apply here.
 


This is the same as Ready a Spell. When you Ready a spell you use the Ready action to do it, as per the description of the Ready action.
no, all it says is that you cast it as normal, and the normal way to cast a spell with casting time action is to use the Magic action
 

You must cast it as normal except for what is changed in the description of Ready a spell.
Correct. What is changed is holding the energy.
It is not "normal" to hold the energy until released, it is not "normal" to concentrate on a spell that does not require concentration, and it is not "normal" to cast a spell on your turn using the Ready action. You must cast it as normal except for those things which are explicitly different.
Right. You cast it as normal using the Magic Action, and then, unlike with your assumption, there is explicit language that allows the energy to be held
There is explicit language which defines how you use the Ready action (not the Magic action) to cast the spell on your turn.
Nope! The only specific language there is "As normal," and spells are normally cast with the Magic Action, and then specific language allowing the spell's energy to be held.

Not one part of that explicitly says the Ready Action is a kind of normal spellcasting, and absent that specific language, it isn't.
 

Remove ads

Top