log in or register to remove this ad

 

D&D 5E Vampires in 5e

Eric V

Hero
Just a question on how Vampires work in this edition.

So, if it is reduced to 0 hp in running water or sunlight, it's destroyed. Fine.

Let's say it is reduced to 0 on land at night...it goes into Misty Form. Said form is immune to all nonmagical damage except sunlight. The vampire does not regen in misty form either (if it assumes misty form as a result of damage)

What happens when my wizard fire bolts the vampire in said form? It's already at 0...
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Zaran

Adventurer
Nothing. The best thing to do is to follow the mist back to the coffin and stake the vampire while it regenerates.
 


Mephista

First Post
Stake them, cut off the head, burn the body to ash, and bury the ashes at a crossroad or in running water. Its the only way to be sure.
 

Ovinomancer

No flips for you!
Just a question on how Vampires work in this edition.

So, if it is reduced to 0 hp in running water or sunlight, it's destroyed. Fine.

Let's say it is reduced to 0 on land at night...it goes into Misty Form. Said form is immune to all nonmagical damage except sunlight. The vampire does not regen in misty form either (if it assumes misty form as a result of damage)

What happens when my wizard fire bolts the vampire in said form? It's already at 0...
I would think that it dies. Misty form is a last gasp, not a cloud of invulnerability.
 

steeldragons

Steeliest of the dragons
Epic
I would expect your firebolt goes flying through the cloud of mist and does damage to whatever it first strikes beyond it...or fizzles out at the end of its range.

The mist cloud will carry on its merry way to its coffin. Regenerate back to full health (unless you've somehow followed/tracked/found its coffin) and begin terrorizing the surrounding country again...seeking out wizards. Specifically, asking each before they meet a gruesome death or unlife of servitude, "Do you know/use the incantation to firebolt?" in search of the impudent churl who sought to slay them with a cantrip!
 




Eric V

Hero
I would expect your firebolt goes flying through the cloud of mist and does damage to whatever it first strikes beyond it...or fizzles out at the end of its range.

The mist cloud will carry on its merry way to its coffin. Regenerate back to full health (unless you've somehow followed/tracked/found its coffin) and begin terrorizing the surrounding country again...seeking out wizards. Specifically, asking each before they meet a gruesome death or unlife of servitude, "Do you know/use the incantation to firebolt?" in search of the impudent churl who sought to slay them with a cantrip!

See, I remember that's how it worked in previous editions, but looking at the ruleset for vampires in 5e, I don't see how that interpretation is legit (standard disclaimer of DMs and their own tables, etc. etc.)

The mist form specifically is immune to nonmagical damage, but firebolt is most assuredly magical damage.

So, going specifically by the 5e rules for vampires, what happens? Does it count as a failed death saving throw? That seems the most logical to me, going by what's available.
 

Eric V

Hero
Nothing. The best thing to do is to follow the mist back to the coffin and stake the vampire while it regenerates.

Why nothing? I'm looking for something I might have mist (spelling error intended) that would support this answer (which I believe would have been the correct answer in 2e).
 

Agamon

Adventurer
Why nothing? I'm looking for something I might have mist (spelling error intended) that would support this answer (which I believe would have been the correct answer in 2e).

The only support I think of is logic. If it's so simple to snuff it out after the change, what's the point? I believe the RAI is that sunlight is required to destroy it in that form, it just wasn't written very well.
 

epithet

Explorer
The vampire doesn't make death saves, he's got 2 hours to puff himself back to his coffin or he dies. When he's doing his misty escape thing, the only way to kill him is to do magical damage equal to his hit points in one shot to get the "instant death" effect.

Misty escape is intended to make your party go searching for the coffin. It's funny when they think they can just follow the cloud, too... you can lead them into all sorts of fun adventures.
 


Eric V

Hero
The only support I think of is logic. If it's so simple to snuff it out after the change, what's the point? I believe the RAI is that sunlight is required to destroy it in that form, it just wasn't written very well.

Maybe, though running water seems to do the trick too.

Is there any other monster that is still active at 0 hp?
 

Ovinomancer

No flips for you!
The vampire doesn't make death saves, he's got 2 hours to puff himself back to his coffin or he dies. When he's doing his misty escape thing, the only way to kill him is to do magical damage equal to his hit points in one shot to get the "instant death" effect.

Misty escape is intended to make your party go searching for the coffin. It's funny when they think they can just follow the cloud, too... you can lead them into all sorts of fun adventures.
Not sure I follow that, as that would make the vamp unique among monsters without any call out to this effect. The mist form still works as a last gasp ability, especially if the vamp squeezes through a crack out drain right off. Otherwise, you need a magic weapon or a holy man or a mage of some stripe to end it.
 

Ristamar

Adventurer
The only support I think of is logic. If it's so simple to snuff it out after the change, what's the point? I believe the RAI is that sunlight is required to destroy it in that form, it just wasn't written very well.

It is poorly written. I'm guessing there should be a sentence in there stating a vampire is immune to all damage except from sunlight (and running water?) while in mist form with 0 hit points. Maybe it'll show up in the errata.
 

MonsterEnvy

Adventurer
Pretty much what Zaran said except don't stake it. Staking a vamp merely paralyzes them not kill them just lob a fireball at the coffin

That won't kill them ether. It would just turn them back into Mist. Which would then reform into the vampire as it's already at the destination.



Anyway once a vampire has been turned into mist at 0 hit points it can't really be harmed as doing any more damage to it won't cause the thing to make death saves due to it's unique nature and negative hit points not existing. AKA it's useless to hit it at this point and following it back to it's coffin is the only way this works.
 


MonsterEnvy

Adventurer
Where is that from?

It's how the Death Rules work. Vampires don't make death saves so if reduced to 0 hit point and in Mist Form by the rules they can't be killed. Combined with the fact that unlike most other monsters they explicitly can't die at 0 hit points.
 

An Advertisement

Advertisement4

Top