Level Up (A5E) Voidrunner's codex - 'Always Prepared' Maneuver, is this a broken feature?

Seems to be working as intended from what I've read here.

Have a look at the a similar maneuver: Instinctive Counterattack
It achieves the same thing; can be used "In" & "Out" of turn; doesn't require Bonus action or a trigger.

Using the maneuver Always Prepared would likely not be optimal for TWF characters if they have the extra attack feature as it would mean you're losing out on an attack.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Because I'm not taking the attack action. I'm taking a Readied Action to make an Attack.

Why could you not ready the Attack Action?

Another point: For the price of your BA, Reaction and 2 exertion you gain an Action, essentially. Quite good, but not necessarily optimal for attack economy, factoring in that there are plenty of options for BA or Reaction attacks as well. I would argue this is way more of a problem if we consider spellcasting.

In one of my current games (we are level 5, but this will happen from level 9 onward) I am planning on using this trick in combination with the Game Theorist feature (from the Savant|Marshal feat line), to use a BA to ready the Attack Action triggered by me moving more than 5 feet. This triggers the reaction attack of Game Theorist. I then move more than 5 feet. This triggers the readied Attack Action, allowing me to forego my first attack to let another ally take a reaction attack instead (Marshal). I then forefo my second attack to let a third ally take a reaction attack (Vanguard Savant). I then take my action to - you guessed it - take the Attack Action, and give away 2 more attacks to different allies.
 


However, as @W'rkncacnter pointed out, you can only make one attack because the Extra Attack feature can only be used on your turn.

Yes, but if the reaction triggers during my turn, would it not just function?

If I understand Game Theorist, then your example would allow you three attacks total, not four.
How so? I count 1 immediately from taking the Ready action, 2 (or 1 out of turn) from readied Attack Action, 2 from the actual Attack Action.
 

Yes, but if the reaction triggers during my turn, would it not just function?


How so? I count 1 immediately from taking the Ready action, 2 (or 1 out of turn) from readied Attack Action, 2 from the actual Attack Action.
I think you have a valid argument here because you have worded it such that the trigger occurs during your turn - thus granting "your" four attacks. However, I gather that had you instead triggered on the "when the enemy moves a muscle" (i.e., starts outside your turn) then it would be suboptimal by your use of the rule. Did the writer's think that readying an action in this way would have this result? I am not sure if this is normally how readied actions are used and perhaps it was written within those norms. If your GM approves the use of the Extra Attack feature twice on your turn then go for it.
 


Just makes sense to me that you're readying an attack rather than the attack action.

After all, if you ready a spell you've already cast it and you're concentrating on it until you trigger it with a reaction. That's not the normal procedure for casting a spell, why would you use the normal procedure for attacking?
 

Just makes sense to me that you're readying an attack rather than the attack action.

After all, if you ready a spell you've already cast it and you're concentrating on it until you trigger it with a reaction. That's not the normal procedure for casting a spell, why would you use the normal procedure for attacking?

Because spells have specific rules in the Ready Action description, other actions do not.
 

Because spells have specific rules in the Ready Action description, other actions do not.
WHY?

What is the mechanical reason to set up a set of hoops for the Fireball spell or a level 5 cantrip but not Extra Attack?

I posit that it does, and it's just overlooked. It states "An Attack" as an example of a readied action. not "Extra Attack" or "The Attack Action" but "An Attack".

From a mechanical and game design position, if you're putting limits and problems over onto spellcasting it's logical to put limits on attacking, too, since their primary gameplay function (throughput) is the same.

If you allow the readied attack action with extra attack, then you're not respecting parity, there.
 

It was allowed in O5E with Fighters and Action Surge :)
Sure. I think the A5e designers removed Action Surge for its regular "abuse". Granted you've found a clever way to view the rules but it does, when used in this manner, comes across as "clever manipulation of the rules" to give you a somewhat unexpected favourable outcome. These are edge cases that designers can't possibly foresee.

As before, it seems like you're having fun with the game and rules and if everyone is onboard then that's rad.
 

Remove ads

Top