D&D 5E Vs Vecna battle simulations.


log in or register to remove this ad

so I'll do some pregaming too:
move up to next pillar
bonus- cast guardian (great tree)
Ready bow attack (sharpshooter power shot) for when V. reappears. If hits another Fury of the Small!!!
 




DND_Reborn

The High Aldwin
To be exact how I do it with this example is Center of token to any part of target token.
Ok, but you were still doing it from the closest corner of the creature to the target, not from the creature's center...

1656277610856.png


And by "any part of the target token" do you mean any four-corners of a square it occupies (which is what it seems you're doing)?

FWIW, there might not be any appreciable difference between centers and closest corner anyway...
 

Ok, but you were still doing it from the closest corner of the creature to the target, not from the creature's center...

View attachment 252056

And by "any part of the target token" do you mean any four-corners of a square it occupies (which is what it seems you're doing)?
I was not measuring from the corner. You misunderstood, the examples I posted were from the DMG of how it’s actually supposed to work, as I stated my Center measuring is just what I have been doing as I forgot that the corner was what the DMG said.
 

DND_Reborn

The High Aldwin
I was not measuring from the corner. You misunderstood, the examples I posted were from the DMG of how it’s actually supposed to work, as I stated my Center measuring is just what I have been doing as I forgot that the corner was what the DMG said.
OH, my mistake. Gotcha! Thanks for clearing that up. :)
 


DND_Reborn

The High Aldwin
Also question now that I am reading the second round, why did Vecna become visible?
He got hit by Go'ban's first arrow....

Which in reviewing Invisibility in 5E was my mistake LOL! I am used to AD&D when if you were hit the spell ended.

Hmm... I will go back an make some Concentration checks for Vecna then.

Thanks for noticing that LOL! Totally on me... :oops:
 

FitzTheRuke

Legend
Broodhaz dashed to where Vecna was and looked about dejectedly, wishing he had an archlich to hack with his sword. "Why'd ya take him away?! It was my turn ta hack'im!"
 

Stalker0

Legend
Can we get a damage counter, for the dramatic element!:)

Also just noting, concentration is a con save, so there is no such thing as an automatic concentration check. Aka a 1 still fails.
 

Stalker0

Legend
It is why Egar took it it and used it. 🤷‍♂️
Anyone who thinks Chill Touch isn't the bees knees has never played high level 5e before. Its stupid good, I've had high level wizards who did nothing but that, they figured stopping 20 points of regen a round was basically +20 damage on their cantrip, I mean that's basically high level spell damage without taking a slot!
 

MarkB

Legend
Also just noting, concentration is a con save, so there is no such thing as an automatic concentration check. Aka a 1 still fails.
Is that definitely the case? I did have the impression that a natural 1 on a save is a fail in 5e, but when I last looked at the rules for saving throws, it isn't mentioned.
 

DND_Reborn

The High Aldwin
Broodhaz dashed to where Vecna was and looked about dejectedly, wishing he had an archlich to hack with his sword. "Why'd ya take him away?! It was my turn ta hack'im!"
Are you bonus action raging?

Can we get a damage counter, for the dramatic element!:)
Sure can! :)

Also just noting, concentration is a con save, so there is no such thing as an automatic concentration check. Aka a 1 still fails.
Not in 5E. A natural 1 on an attack always misses, but a 1 on an ability check or a saving throw can still succeed. In these cases, Vecna rolling a 1 + 12 will beat the DC 10-- so automatically succeeds. 🤷‍♂️
 

DND_Reborn

The High Aldwin
POINT OF ORDER/ RULING NEEDED: Would using Fell Rebuke negate Vecna's Invisibility?

It seem it would, but technically he isn't casting a spell nor is he making an attack....
 

DorkForge

Explorer
POINT OF ORDER/ RULING NEEDED: Would using Fell Rebuke negate Vecna's Invisibility?

It seem it would, but technically he isn't casting a spell nor is he making an attack....
No, spells do what they say they do, other spells specify do damage to a creature, Invisibility doesn't do that, so he'd stay Invisible.

In fact, there's no reason why he wouldn't stay invisible throughout if he forewent his AT attacks, assuming that was prudent for him of course.
 


Stalker0

Legend
No, spells do what they say they do, other spells specify do damage to a creature, Invisibility doesn't do that, so he'd stay Invisible.

In fact, there's no reason why he wouldn't stay invisible throughout if he forewent his AT attacks, assuming that was prudent for him of course.
I would agree. Fell Rebuke has no attack roll, ergo not an attack. And its not a spell, so yeah Vecna stays invis.
 

DND_Reborn

The High Aldwin
No, spells do what they say they do, other spells specify do damage to a creature, Invisibility doesn't do that, so he'd stay Invisible.

In fact, there's no reason why he wouldn't stay invisible throughout if he forewent his AT attacks, assuming that was prudent for him of course.
Thanks for chiming in!

I would agree. Fell Rebuke has no attack roll, ergo not an attack. And its not a spell, so yeah Vecna stays invis.
That is two votes FOR, none AGAINST. Waiting for three votes either way before I continue....
 

An Advertisement

Advertisement4

Top