Wand Casting Times

kmdietri

Explorer
If a spell has a casting time of a swift action, when it is put in a wand does the use of the wand still require a standard action?

Thanks
 

log in or register to remove this ad

"Wands use the spell trigger activation method, so casting a spell from a wand is usually a standard action that doesn’t provoke attacks of opportunity. "

While the description says 'usually', I don't see an explicit exception for wand use as a swift action when the spell is cast as a swift action.
 


Sorry, found my own answer.

Rules Compendium pg 85.

I thought they had changed it, couldn't remmber where.

Thanks

They did in the Spell Compendium pg 4

"Magic Items: Activating a spell completion item, activating
a spell trigger item, or drinking a potion is a standard
action even if the spell from which the scroll, potion, or
item is made can be cast as a swift action. In other words, it
takes a standard action to drink a potion of quick march(page
164), even though casting the spell itself requires only a
swift action."

But it looks like the Rules Compendium changed it back again.

"Activating a spell trigger item takes the same amount of time as the casting of the spell the item stores, but activating a spell trigger item doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity."
 

Remove ads

Top