Wand of Dispel Magic

MerakSpielman

First Post
My bard has just created a wand of Dispel Magic.

Dispel Magic can be cast in several ways - targeted dispel, area dispel, or as a counterspell.

Is it possible to use these different methods when activating a wand?

For example, with the wand, could I ready an action to counter an opposing spellcasters spells? And then next round use it as an area-effect dispel on a group of buffed up fighters?

Or do I have to set the type of dispel I want at the time of creation?

I guess the real question is: If a spell has multiple methods of casting, do you have to select the method at the time of wand creation, or can the wand user decide on a charge-by-charge basis?

Thanks.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

You can switch between the different types of dispelling as you wish. You do not have to set the mode of usage at creation time.
 

Shilsen is correct.

However, I don't think items of any kind can be used to counterspell...somebody correct me if I'm wrong on this one.
 

You're wrong on this.

I thought you were rereading the rules, Tom!

The only thing I could find that might prove you right, is that to cast a counterspell, you must "[alter] it slightly to create a counterspell effect." And so it would be hard to counter a Fireball spell from a wand.

But Dispel Magic doesn't need to be altered to counterspell:

Dispel Magic as a Counterspell: The character can use dispel magic to counterspell another spellcaster, and the character doesn't need to identify the spell he or she is casting. However, dispel magic doesn't always work as a counterspell.

Just my opinion.
 

Of couse, the Wand of Dispel Magic makes the dispel check, not you, and that could be a bad thing.
 
Last edited:

kreynolds said:
Of couse, the Wand of Dispel Magic makes the dispel check, not you, and that could be a bad thing.

True... but since he created the wand.. the dispel check should be the same for now. Until he levels, of course. :)
 

Bah, Lucius. Bah.

I read that same passage in the SRD, but didn't quote it since it has nothing to do with items and counterspells. And I don't have my D&D books with me at work, unlike you. :)

The FAQ has this, which was probably what I was thinking of:

Can a monster’s spell-like ability counterspell a
character’s spell?

A spell-like ability cannot be counterspelled, nor can it be used
as a counterspell.

I still think there's some limitation on using items to counterspell. Perhaps in the DMG?
 

Tom Cashel said:
Bah, Lucius. Bah.

....

I still think there's some limitation on using items to counterspell. Perhaps in the DMG?

Bah on you, Tom.

Spell-like abilities can't be used to counterspell since they're not spells. A spell-like ability to charm someone won't counterspell a charm person spell since there's no spell being cast.

But a wand essentially casts the spell. After all, I would say that scrolls can be used to counterspell, no? Why not wands?
 

Hmm...maybe I'm thinking of that "no items" rule in the Mageduel we ran. I'm probably not right, but I'm definitely thinking of something. You can be sure of that!

Oh, and bah on you, Lucius. :)
 

Lucius Foxhound said:
True... but since he created the wand.. the dispel check should be the same for now. Until he levels, of course. :)

Exactly. Also, at 33,750 gp (15th level caster), such a wand would still have its uses against buff spells and minor iritating spells, like web, or heck, even alarm.
 

Enchanted Trinkets Complete

Recent & Upcoming Releases

Remove ads

Top