What do you think of the Duskblade?

rgard said:
Another way around this would be to create a Domain-like feat for the Duskblade. Go through the Cleric Domains and Domain Wizards lists (UA) and find a domain to apply. I would keep the domain power (as per cleric domains) as part of the feat as you are only getting the benefit of 5 different spells added to the known list.

Edit: Also, limit the Duskblade to taking this feat at first level and limit it to one feat even if the character has two feats as a human.

Thanks,
Rich
Umm, there's already a feat that allows to add domain spells to an arcane caster's list: Arcane Disciple from Complete Divine. Why invent a new feat?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Jhaelen said:
Umm, there's already a feat that allows to add domain spells to an arcane caster's list: Arcane Disciple from Complete Divine. Why invent a new feat?

Yes, I'm aware of that one, but I don't think you get the domain power with that, but I could be wrong. I'm thinking it would be a better feat if you got the domain power to offset the lack of getting access to the 6-9 level spells.

Just a thought.

Thanks,
Rich
 


Jhaelen said:
Umm, there's already a feat that allows to add domain spells to an arcane caster's list: Arcane Disciple from Complete Divine. Why invent a new feat?

As good as this looks few will have the wisdom to support it on a duskblade.
 

blargney the second said:
I'm feeling a little hypothetical. If a Duskblade knew Empower Spell and Shocking Grasp, would it be bad to let him use one of his spells known to learn a standard action empowered shocking grasp as a third level spell?
Not only don't I think it would be bad, but I would encourage them to make good use of sudden meta magic feats since they have such a short cut off of spells levels they can use.
 

Pierson_Lowgal said:
From the FAQ

Do temporary hit points from two applications of the
same effect stack? What about from different effects? If I
have temporary hit points from multiple sources, how
should I apply damage?

Temporary hit points from two applications of the same
effect don’t stack;
instead, the highest number of temporary hit
points applies in place of all others. Temporary hit points from
different sources stack, but you must keep track of them
separately.
For example, imagine a character who gained 15 temporary
hit points from an aid spell. After taking 8 points of damage,
she has 7 temporary hit points left from the spell. If another aid
spell were cast on the same character granting 12 temporary hit
points, this total would replace the other spell’s total, meaning
the character would now have 12 temporary hit points (rather
than 19). If the character then cast false life on herself, she
would add the full benefit of that spell to the temporary hit
points from the aid spell.
This also applies to temporary hit points gained from
energy drain and similar special abilities. Each successful
attack counts as one application of the effect (meaning that an
attack that bestows 2 or more negative levels still counts as
only one application of the effect). For example, a wight gains
5 temporary hit points each time it bestows a negative level
with its slam attack. If it bestows another negative level while it
has 2 temporary hit points remaining from the first attack, the
new temporary hit points would replace the old ones.
Temporary hit points are “first-in, first-out.” Damage
should be taken off the oldest temporary-hit-point-granting
effect first; when that effect is exhausted, apply damage to the
next oldest effect. For this reason, you must track each supply
of temporary hit points separately.
Not sure what you are going for here. We already covered this on pages one and two and I posted the same thing from the FAQ.

If you cast Vampiric touch through your weapon, you get temp HPs for all attacks that round, if using the 13th level version of arcane channeling, because it is the same application, key word being same, just effecting different targets. The only way this would not work is if WOTC came out and made an errata ruling that even though the spell is one application, the effect of arcane channeling counts as different applications individually for each hit, for purposes of this spell.

That is unless you can find a rule somewhere that I have missed that states exactly what they mean by the term "application" and how it is effected under certain circumstances. It would have to be detailed, it would almost have to point out exactly how it would reflect the use of Arcane Channeling, since it is a new ability and thus trumping most older rules.

If you do it again in the next round, it is a different application and the rules above apply.

Was there something you wanted to add?
 
Last edited:

Does anybody know of a touch spell that allows you to make multiple simultaneous touch attacks against the same target? The key word being simultaneous. I can't think of any off of the top of my head.

This is a question from the FAQ:

How does the duskblade’s arcane channeling class feature (Player’s Handbook II, 20) work with spells that allow multiple touch attacks, such as chill touch?

For a spell that allows you to make multiple touch attacks against separate creatures (such as chill touch), you only channel one touch of the spell through your weapon attack, regardless of the number of touches allowed by the spell. If the spell’s duration is instantaneous (as chill touch), its effect is expended by a single weapon attack, even if the spell would normally allow multiple simultaneous touches.

If the spell allowed you to make multiple simultaneous touch attacks against the same target, treat it as if you had targeted the enemy struck by your weapon with all the eligible attacks.
 

DM-Rocco said:
Does anybody know of a touch spell that allows you to make multiple simultaneous touch attacks against the same target? The key word being simultaneous. I can't think of any off of the top of my head.

This is a question from the FAQ:

How does the duskblade’s arcane channeling class feature (Player’s Handbook II, 20) work with spells that allow multiple touch attacks, such as chill touch?

For a spell that allows you to make multiple touch attacks against separate creatures (such as chill touch), you only channel one touch of the spell through your weapon attack, regardless of the number of touches allowed by the spell. If the spell’s duration is instantaneous (as chill touch), its effect is expended by a single weapon attack, even if the spell would normally allow multiple simultaneous touches.

If the spell allowed you to make multiple simultaneous touch attacks against the same target, treat it as if you had targeted the enemy struck by your weapon with all the eligible attacks.

Yes, there is a spell in Savage Species called Spell Flower that allows you to cast multiple touch spells without losing the previous touch spell. You can only do it as many times as you have limbs. So, if you're a marilith you can cast 6 touch spells, one for each hand to carry the touch spell. A 7th would dissipate all of them, I believe. With a humanoid, however, the best you can do is 2 hands.
 


Razz said:
Yes, there is a spell in Savage Species called Spell Flower that allows you to cast multiple touch spells without losing the previous touch spell. You can only do it as many times as you have limbs. So, if you're a marilith you can cast 6 touch spells, one for each hand to carry the touch spell. A 7th would dissipate all of them, I believe. With a humanoid, however, the best you can do is 2 hands.
Hmm, while that is cool, it is not often that I can convince a DM to let me play a Maralith (twice to date) :) ;) :cool:
I was just wondering. It seemed an odd entery or point of fact for a Sage answer.



Whizbang Dustyboots said:
How the heck does one "mainate?"
ROFL :D :p :lol:
 

Remove ads

Top