• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

What has the greatest chance of destroying the Forgotten Realms?

I'm A Banana

Potassium-Rich
So...here's a question for everyone who either loves or hates Faerun.

I'm thinking of setting my next campaign there...only I don't want to use it as-written. I want to throw the PC's in *after* some force of evil has swept through and actually *won.*

Dizzit? Elminster? Most of the gods? Gone. Obliterated, reduced to dust, and generally killed in horrible ways due to this Great Evil. At least cut off from followers. Weave's still there, but probably in bad shape...and it's not a goddess of any sort anymore.

In fact, I want most of the littler evils also wiped out in the course of this.

So how do I do it? I'm asking because I'm not very experienced in Realms-Lore. I got the 3e CS, Magic and Monsters but nothing else (nor do I desire to buy anything else). What's the most likely plot to succeed? What's the biggest evil threatening *all* the realms?

I want to introduce my PC's to a realms where all the rules they know have been turned upside down. Blasted plains replace fertile fields and some great evil replaces Elminster. I want fiends cavorting in the halls of the Harpers and undead devouring what's left of Evermeet. The Simbul's skull dons an orc chief's head.

I want them to fear for the very safety, integrity, and lasting power of the places they value as homes. Imagine this as Ed Greenwood having an illigitimate child born of the Scarred Lands.

So, how should I do it? How can I appease those who've read the books and know the stories, yet have all the unbeatable heroes...beaten.