radferth said:I know that Tome and Blood pretty clearly states that any spell that rolls to hit is eligible for sneak attack damage, if the caster has sneak attack. Is this interpretation anywhere is the PHB, DMG, or SRD? If not, does its appearane in Tome and Blood make it an official rule, or an optional one?
kreynolds said:A big iron tube-looking thing that shoots out huge iron balls with a very loud BANG!!!!!
Marius Delphus said:
But, I seem to remember the T&B ruling made it possible to combine touch attack spells (such as rays) and sneak attack damage. I pictured a rogue standing 30' from a flanked opponent with a scroll of ray of frost and managing to inflict multiple d6 damage with a 0-level spell. That just doesn't sit well with me.I'll have to reread T&B (in my *spare* time, ha ha) to be sure I remember correctly.
hong said:
Note that flanking doesn't apply to ranged attacks, not even ranged touch attacks.
Pielorinho said:
If it seems excessive for a 0th-level spell to be able to do multiple-d6 points of damage, just remember that the rogue could do similar damage with a nonmagical dart. Or, if the touch-attack is important, the rogue could do similar damage with a flask of alchemist's fire.
Daniel
thalmin said:
The dart isn't quite the same. You don't normally ignore armor or natural armor with a dart.
Or, if the touch-attack is important, the rogue could do similar damage with a flask of alchemist's fire.