When does a rule violate copyright/d20 license?

wocky said:
I know no court would let me go free with my own "Brain Flayer"

LOL

In the real world, unless you were actually copying WoTC's Monster Manual text about Mindflayers I think you'd have a very good case under copyright law, idea/expression dichotomy et al. The idea of a brain-sucking squid-headed monster is Lovecraft's not WotC's.
Potential breach of the OGL contract is another matter though.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

As long you do not use Wizards' expression of a brain-sucking squid-headed monster, go ahead.

Of course, anyone who is not well-versed in Lovecraft (only a small fraction of those in Wizards' customer fan base) may screamed "ripoff!" ;)
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top