When picking an item up, does an AoO stop it?

Li Shenron said:
At least this is not granted by the rules. However, I think there was a similar case when someone provokes an AoO with drinking a potion and you were allowed to direct the AoO against the potion if you wanted. Now I cannot find it in the SRD, could it be in some FAQ?

It's in the Magic Items section, under Potions. It's a special case - normally attacking an item is a standard action, and can't be part of an AoO.

SRD said:
Activation: Drinking a potion or applying an oil requires no special skill. The user merely removes the stopper and swallows the potion or smears on the oil. The following rules govern potion and oil use.

Drinking a potion or using an oil on an item of gear is a standard action. The potion or oil takes effect immediately. Using a potion or oil provokes attacks of opportunity. A successful attack (including grappling attacks) against the character forces a Concentration check (as for casting a spell). If the character fails this check, she cannot drink the potion. An enemy may direct an attack of opportunity against the potion or oil container rather than against the character. A successful attack of this sort can destroy the container.


AGGEMAM said:
Sure it is. A disarm takes the place of a melee attack. An AoO is a melee attack. What more do you need?

Well, it's the Trip question, rephrased. Can you Disarm someone of a weapon when their "Pick up a weapon" action has not resolved? Are they in fact yet holding anything for you to disarm them of? And if you succeed, then doesn't their action resolve after your AoO... which just results in them picking up the weapon anyway?

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hypersmurf said:
It's a special case - normally attacking an item is a standard action, and can't be part of an AoO.

Can you please point me to where it says that in the SRD (or an actual book, but SRD is easier to access right now)?
 

By the rules you do not stop someones actions with a sucsessful AoO on most things.

Its most annoying when a newb thinks a melee attack will stop his friend from being CDGed
 

James McMurray said:
Can you please point me to where it says that in the SRD (or an actual book, but SRD is easier to access right now)?

Sure.

Table of Action types.

Sunder a Weapon and Sunder an Object are both standard actions, and do not have footnote mark 7.

Footnote mark 7 states "These attack forms substitute for a melee attack, not an action. As melee attacks, they can be used once in an attack or charge action, one or more times in a full attack action, or even as an attack of opportunity."

Sunder is an action. In the text, it states:

SUNDER
You can use a melee attack with a slashing or bludgeoning weapon to strike a weapon or shield that your opponent is holding.

Note - it doesn't substitute for a melee attack. It states that you can use a melee attack. Since Sunder is a standard action, we have: If you take the Sunder standard action, you can use a melee attack to strike a weapon etc.

On an AoO, you can't take a standard action - you can only make a melee attack, or an attack form that substitutes for a melee attack. Namely, Trip, Grapple, and Disarm.

Potions are an exception, since they have a special rule in their text that relates to the AoO provoked by drinking a potion.

-Hyp.
 



Sorry, didn't realize I was beaking tradition...

<clears throat>

THAT'S THE BIGGEST LOAD OF CRAP I'VE EVER HEARD!!! EVERYONE KNOWS SUNDERING IS AN ATTACK, AND YOU'RE AN IDIOT FOR TRYING TO SAY OTHERWISE!!!

Is that better? :)
 


Remove ads

Top