WotC CS answers some Stealth and Shadow Walk questions

Interesting. Do you have a reference you can point me to?

I took a quick look, but can't find it right now. It's buried in threads on the WotC board and I've no idea which one. I'd be the last to blame you if you decided to await proof.

By way of conspiring evidence, the FAQ notes that

4. If a power allows me to move myself or another creature a certain distance, must whatever’s being moved go the full distance?

No, these numbers are maximums; whomever controls the power can choose a lesser distance if desired.

That's not movement, and lesser distance could even mean 'some distance, and less' rather than 'any amount less down to zero', of course.

BTW if a trap read 'triggers after you've finished moving' then the DM would be right to let it trigger at the end of a player's movement.

-vk
 

log in or register to remove this ad

It is in these Stealth threads =P
Zing! :cool:

I am drawing a comparison between moving and Shadow Walk activating and moving and a trap activating.
I understand, I just don't see it as a valid comparison.

A trap is a pre-existing terrain feature. It "interrupts" the move the same way that walking into a square with forest (Cover) or fog (Concealment) does. Shadow Walk is not a pre-existing terrain feature. It's an ability with a prerequisite.
 

Shadow walk says "if you move at least 3 squares away from where you started your turn, you gain concealment until the end of your next turn". I think its the "at least" that clinches (for me) that its NOT an "i walk three squares and it triggers and i finish walking my speed" ability. It seems to be a "I walk 3 or 4 or 5 or 6 or more squares and gain concealment". The concealment doesn't trigger on square 3, so the options are either you get it at the begining of the movement (which i don't think works, since something could easily stop you from moving the full required amount, and doesn't jive with any of the rules) or at the end, which doesn't have any conflicts with anything. So you get concealment after you move.

The question is now; does ending the movement with concealment meet the requirements for making a stealth check for entering concealment, as per question #1?
 

The question is now; does ending the movement with concealment meet the requirements for making a stealth check for entering concealment, as per question #1?
As I stated above, IMO: no. Whatever action you used to make that move is over. If you have actions left, you can now make use of Stealth with them, or you can do it on your next turn, since the Shadow Walk lasts through to the end of it.
 

Given that you can move 3 squares away (satisfies Shadow Walk) then move back (does not)... the ruling that it only triggers after you finish appears to be correct.
 

When I keep reading about whether or not a Warlock can use stealth during his move but after his 3 squares of movement I keep being reminded of Athletics skill and say a long jump. That's a skill that you use mid-move, much as it would appear you could do with this stealth check.

Tellerve
 

Given that you can move 3 squares away (satisfies Shadow Walk) then move back (does not)... the ruling that it only triggers after you finish appears to be correct.

Well, this is the 3.5 Skirmish question.

Skirmish triggered if you moved more than ten feet from where you were at the start of the round.

If the scout moved ten feet back, ten feet forward, and hit someone, did his attack benefit from skirmish? I said yes - he moved ten feet from where he was at the start of the round, triggering skirmish, before he moved back and attacked.

So if the warlock moves three squares back and one square forward, finishing two squares from where he started, did he move three squares from his starting position? Sure, briefly. But briefly doesn't matter - the concealment doesn't last as long as he's three squares away, it lasts until the end of his next turn.

Is there any difference between "Warlock takes a move action to move three squares back and one square forward", and "Warlock takes a move action to move three squares back and a second move action to shift one square forward"? In both cases, he has moved three squares away from where he started before moving closer again.

-Hyp.
 

Well, this is the 3.5 Skirmish question.

Skirmish triggered if you moved more than ten feet from where you were at the start of the round.

If the scout moved ten feet back, ten feet forward, and hit someone, did his attack benefit from skirmish? I said yes - he moved ten feet from where he was at the start of the round, triggering skirmish, before he moved back and attacked.

So if the warlock moves three squares back and one square forward, finishing two squares from where he started, did he move three squares from his starting position? Sure, briefly. But briefly doesn't matter - the concealment doesn't last as long as he's three squares away, it lasts until the end of his next turn.

Is there any difference between "Warlock takes a move action to move three squares back and one square forward", and "Warlock takes a move action to move three squares back and a second move action to shift one square forward"? In both cases, he has moved three squares away from where he started before moving closer again.

-Hyp.

I'm inclined to read it this way. BUT I hope it will be explicitly specified in FAQ or errata soon.
 

Is there any difference between "Warlock takes a move action to move three squares back and one square forward", and "Warlock takes a move action to move three squares back and a second move action to shift one square forward"? In both cases, he has moved three squares away from where he started before moving closer again.

Y'know, I'm not sure - if the CS guy is right, it honestly sounds like what they want to say is more like 'At the end of your turn, if you're at least three squares from where you started the turn, you gain concealment until the end of your next turn.'

I'm extremely willing to believe they don't want you running around in circles to gain the benefit, though.
 

If the scout moved ten feet back, ten feet forward, and hit someone, did his attack benefit from skirmish? I said yes - he moved ten feet from where he was at the start of the round, triggering skirmish, before he moved back and attacked.
With all due respect, that is utterly wack, IMHO. :lol:

keterys said:
I'm extremely willing to believe they don't want you running around in circles to gain the benefit, though.
QFT. People need to stop Bill-Clinton-ing their way through the rulebook.
 

Remove ads

Top