Corpsetaker
First Post
This came up in in of our little side games we are wrapping up.
There was a spellcaster who hit one of the PC's with a charm spell. Well the rogue comes up behind and lands a critical attack that sorely wounds the spellcaster. On her turn I have her go invisible.
Now just a little while ago I described the critical hit has landing a devastating wound and I described it as she was bleeding from a vicious wound. Now the ranger character asked if he could just follow the blood trail and see where the blood was hitting the floor which in turn would reveal where she is.
Invisibility
2nd-level illusion
Casting Time: 1 action
Range: Touch
Components: V, S, M (an eyelash encased
in gum arabic)
Duration: Concentration, up to 1 hour
A creature you touch becomes invisible until the spell
ends. Anything the target is wearing or carrying is
invisible as long as it is on the target’s person. The spell
ends for a target that attacks or casts a spell.
At Higher Levels. When you cast this spell using
a spell slot of 3rd level or higher, you can target one
additional creature for each slot level above 2nd.
I had to stop the game there because I wasn't really sure how to rule. Mind you I like to keep to the rules as much as possible. My player's pointed out the above that I highlighted. I could understand the spellcaster being tracked out of combat but not during combat and in a way that would negate invisibility. I wonder if this constitutes as leaving tracks?
Opinions?
There was a spellcaster who hit one of the PC's with a charm spell. Well the rogue comes up behind and lands a critical attack that sorely wounds the spellcaster. On her turn I have her go invisible.
Now just a little while ago I described the critical hit has landing a devastating wound and I described it as she was bleeding from a vicious wound. Now the ranger character asked if he could just follow the blood trail and see where the blood was hitting the floor which in turn would reveal where she is.
Invisibility
2nd-level illusion
Casting Time: 1 action
Range: Touch
Components: V, S, M (an eyelash encased
in gum arabic)
Duration: Concentration, up to 1 hour
A creature you touch becomes invisible until the spell
ends. Anything the target is wearing or carrying is
invisible as long as it is on the target’s person. The spell
ends for a target that attacks or casts a spell.
At Higher Levels. When you cast this spell using
a spell slot of 3rd level or higher, you can target one
additional creature for each slot level above 2nd.
I had to stop the game there because I wasn't really sure how to rule. Mind you I like to keep to the rules as much as possible. My player's pointed out the above that I highlighted. I could understand the spellcaster being tracked out of combat but not during combat and in a way that would negate invisibility. I wonder if this constitutes as leaving tracks?
Opinions?
Last edited: