Michael Silverbane
Adventurer
If you can touch yourself, you can hold yourself...right?
Not in public.
If you can touch yourself, you can hold yourself...right?
If you can touch yourself, you can hold yourself...right?
For example, an older gamer recently told me that early D&D lacks AoO-like rules because the writers came from a wargaming background, and they assumed that everyone knows that you don't simply run past an armed enemy. I guess they figured that running past an armed enemy would be such an unusual occurrence that it wasn't worth having official rules for.
It is not a crime for PC's to be good at something.
At least there is no rule forbidding it. Let PC's be awesome at stuff. The game will VERY likely survive. Just my reaction to the topic...
True. But every DM has a pocketful of Kryptonite which, with 3E, they have always been weirdly reluctant to use when they need it most. It is the word, "no". People love to toot their own horns about saying "yes" as a DM, but if a PC is really, truly blowing the bell curve just say no. No, you may not combine the effects of those feats because it is too powerful. No, I have decided it does NOT work that way because it creates too much of a problem. If they ask why - tell them: "Because you found the edge of the envelope. Congratulations on your superior System Mastery. Your character is wildly unbalanced with the rest of the party and your relentless pursuit of greater imbalance is disruptive. It makes my job too hard. It no longer serves a useful purpose to accommodate you, and in fact your PC needs to be taken down a notch if it is to continue to fit in with the party."The problem comes when one PC is seriously outside the curve for the group.
The game was designed with a specific balance in mind. 3.*, for example, was designed so that, for a "typical" party of four characters, an opponent with a CR to match the party's level should call for about 1/4th the party's resources, in terms of spells, hit points, healing etc.
The problem comes when one PC is seriously outside the curve for the group. ...
The other thing is, people who pursue the ubermanch builds seldom stop at being awesome.
Agreed that that is the intent, but I can see Greenfield's point regarding the clause "...he is holding". Those three words are unnecessary, but if you take them as actually part of the intention, then a natural weapon is a light weapon but by the rules it isn't a held weapon. So by the rules a natural weapon can't be disarmed, sundered, or interact with the haste spell..
As another point where the distinction between a weapon and a held weapon matters, if you attempt to sunder a spiked gauntlet does it count as a held weapon, or as a worn object, or as worn armor? My instinct from the rules is that it counts as a worn object, but I can see a DM ruling all three and all be perfectly logical.