Avenging Echo Question

ZebraCakes

First Post
Avenging Echo states "Until the end of your next turn, any enemy that ends its turn adjacent to you or that hits or misses you takes 5 radiant damage."

If an enemy were to miss you, and then end its turn adjacent to you, does it take this damage twice? Once for the miss, another for ending adjacent.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


In fact, if it were to attack with a double attack for a hit and a miss, then spend an action point and hit, miss, and hit again, and then stayed beside you, it would get the meltyface 'benefit' of all those hits and misses.

And it's probably dumber for it.
 


I'd say not, given the wording of the power. It says any creature that does X or Y or Z. My reading would be that once it affected someone that's it.

Actually, I think it says any creature that does X or does (Y or Z). Slightly different, but it's really just an option of two triggering conditions for damage, where the second contains a subset of two conditions.

Also, the power does not stipulate that the damage triggers only on the first time that one of these conditions are met before the end of the next turn, as many powers do, and so implies that it triggers each time one of these conditions are met before the end of the next turn. Just as a creature can be damaged multiple times by running in & out & into a damaging zone, a creature dumb enough to keep attacking and ending up to a lit-up Avenger will feel the burn.

Really, it's a power that says "stay away from me!" for the Avenger; one of the aspects of the class that make it kind of an anti-Defender.

-Dan'L
 


It's a matter of satisfying the conditions. Dealing the damage is not any kind of action, it just happens. So any time the trigger condition is met, it happens. There is nothing that indicates if you need to rewind time and check to see if it already happened during this turn. It doesn't say once per turn, it doesn't say as an X type of action.

"Until the end of your next turn, any enemy that ends its turn adjacent to you or that hits or misses you takes 5 radiant damage."

Enemy A moves adjacent to you and readies an action to attack you when his buddy flanks. That ends his turn and he takes 5 damage. Enemy B flanks you, enemy A's readied attack goes off, he misses you and he takes 5 damage. Enemy B attacks, hits you, and takes 5 damage. Enemy B's turn ends, and he takes 5 damage. Enemy C walks up and attacks you, hits, takes 5 damage, pushes you 2 squares. Enemy C's turn ends, but he is not adjacent to you, so no damage.

That's about the fairest interpretation without injecting any assumed rules text.
 

Is ther an official rule? My DM want's to see it :( please.
There doesn't have to be. Powers do what they say they do, and there is no "you can only be damaged once by a power" rule. The power clearly states what happens (damage) and multiple triggers for same. Each time you trigger it, damage happens. Simple.
 

Remove ads

Top